YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Parmenter's Record Performances Lead Hart

May 07, 1999

Ryan Parmenter left a pair of Foothill League records in his wake, leading the Hart High boys' swim team to a resounding victory in the league finals on Thursday at Valley College.

Parmenter, a senior, broke his own meet records in winning the 100-yard butterfly in a school-record 52.36 seconds and the 200 individual medley in 1:56.16.

Parmenter also was a member of Hart's meet record-setting 100 medley relay team, along with Anthony Ervin, Mike Linn and Nick Yancey.

The Indians won every event except the 200 free relay, finishing with 532 points. Burroughs placed second with 336 points, followed by Saugus (270), Burbank (205), Valencia (185) and Canyon (159).

Ervin won the 50 free in 20.81 and the 100 free in 45.41. Pritchett won the 200 free (1:47.37) and the 500 free (4:48.94).

Hart won the girls' meet with 597 points, its 17th consecutive league title. They were followed by Valencia (219), Saugus (306), Burroughs (267), Canyon (163) and Burbank (130).

Christine Castellano of Hart won the 200 individual medley in 2:14.62 and the 100 breast in 1:11.62, and teammate Jade Klawer won the 200 free in 2:06.56 and the 500 free in 5:35.42

Hart's Shannon Coskran won the 100 butterfly and the 100 backstroke.

Julie Olson of Burroughs won the 50 free in 25.76.

Serena Lovingood of Valencia placed third in the 100 and 200 free.

Frontier League finals--Jermaine Britton and Cory Gustafson each won twoevents, helping the Nordhoff boys' team win the meet at Santa Paula High.

The Rangers finished with 389 points, followed by Calabasas (296), Malibu (201), Carpinteria (96) and Santa Paula (7).

Britton won the 50 free in 22.68 and the 100 butterfly in 54.47. Gustafson won the 100 free in 50.25 and the 100 breaststroke 1:03.13.

Calabasas won the girls' meet with 295 points, followed by Malibu (259) and Nordhoff (218).

Aya Osuga of Calabasas won the 200 and the 500 free, and Robin Kim won the 100 butterfly in a Southern Section qualifying time of 1:00.67.


Harvard-Westlake 11, Loyola 7--Sophomore Prakash Amritraj won his three matches for Harvard-Westlake (16-3, 11-1), which earned a share of the Mission League title with Loyola in a match at The Tennis Place in Los Angeles.

Campbell Hall 16, Buckley 2--Adam Zunder improved to 51-3 by defeating his three opponents in a Delphic League match at Buckley.

Campbell Hall (14-5, 8-2 in league) finished second in the league behind Brentwood.

Hoover 17, Pasadena 1--Boris Tong lost one game in three matches at No. 2 singles and the host Tornadoes (13-3, 9-1) clinched the Pacific League title.

Valencia 16, Saugus 2--Corey Moore, Brian Peterson and Brandon Neal swept in singles in a Foothill League match at Saugus.

Los Angeles Times Articles