Fullerton's Oborn and Little Named Big West Players of Year

May 19, 1999

Cal State Fullerton's Spencer Oborn was named Big West Conference baseball player of the year and Titan catcher Stephenie Little was named conference softball player of the year when the teams were announced Tuesday.

Oborn, a junior outfielder, had a 37-game hitting streak--one short of Fullerton's and the Big West's record--and finished among the top 10 in all 10 conference statistical categories.

Long Beach State's Mike Gallo was named pitcher of the year. Gallo, a senior left-hander, finished the regular season at 10-2 with a conference-best 2.13 earned-run average.

Little, a senior catcher, hit 22 home runs, breaking the conference single-season record by seven. Pacific senior Brandee McArthur, who graduated from Villa Park High, was named pitcher of the year. She led the league in victories (22) and ERA (0.85).

George Horton, who led Fullerton to a 44-11 overall record and 25-5 mark in winning the Big West title, was named co-coach of the year with Nevada's Gary Powers. Pete Manarino, who led Long Beach State to its third conference title in four years, was named softball coach of the year.

The all-conference teams:

Baseball first team--David Bacani (CS Fullerton), 2B, So.; Chris Beck (CS Fullerton), 1B, Jr.; Matt Ortiz (Nevada), C, Jr.; Don Price (Nevada), 1B, Jr.; David Bacani (CS Fullerton), 2B, So.; Ryan Owens (CS Fullerton), 3B, Jr.; Chris Weekly, (New Mexico State), SS, Sr.; Brad Wright (UC Santa Barbara), UT, Sr.; Jaeme Leal (LB State), DH, Jr.; Aaron Rifkin (CS Fullerton), DH, So.; Reed Johnson (CS Fullerton), OF, Jr; Spencer Oborn (CS Fullerton), OF, Jr.; Lyle Overbay (Nevada), OF, Sr.; Mike Gallo (LB State), SP, Sr.; Darin Moore (Pacific), SP, Jr.; Matt Sorensen (CS Fullerton), SP, So.; Mark Short (Pacific), RP, Jr.

Baseball second team--Chris Barski (New Mexico State), C, Jr.; Bryan LaCour (UC Santa Barbara), 1B, Sr.; Justin Martin (Nevada), 2B, Sr.; Greg Dobbs (LB State), 3B, Jr.; Bobby Crosby (LB State), SS, Fr.; Ryan Church (Nevada), UT, Jr.; Chris Roberson (New Mexico State), DH, Sr.; Joe Inglett (Nevada), OF, Jr.; Terrmel Sledge (LB State), OF, Sr.; Chris Wright (LB State), OF, Fr.; Adam Johnson (CS Fullerton), SP, So.; Chad Qualls (Nevada), SP, Jr.; Matt Rainer (Nevada), SP, So.; Scott Albin (Nevada), RP, Sr.

Softball first team--Brandee McArthur (Pacific), P, Sr.; Tara Glaister (CS Northridge), P, Sr.; Kristi Fox (LB State), P, Jr.; Stephenie Little (CS Fullerton), C, Sr.; Sandy Millard (Utah State), 1B, Jr.; Nikki Hart (CS Fullerton), 2B, Sr.; Katie Cichy (Sacramento State), SS, Sr.; Adrienne Ratajczak (Pacific), SS, So.; Kasey Poet (Cal Poly), 3B, So.; Sara Stockton (Cal Poly), OF, Sr.; Melanie Muniz (LB State), OF, Sr.; Tonya Dias (UC Santa Barbara), OF, Jr.; Jessica Creith (CS Northridge), UT, Jr.; Yolanda Estrada (Sacramento State), DP, Fr.

Softball second team--Jana Oetgen (CS Fullerton), P, Sr.; Kelly Lovato (Sacramento State), P, Sr.; Traci Hensel (LB State), P, So.; Jenny O'Leary (Sacramento State), C, Jr.; Monica Lucatero (CS Fullerton), 1B, Fr.; Katrina Nolletti (CS Northridge), 2B, Sr.; Ashlie Hayes (CS Northridge), SS, Sr.; Mandy Edwards (UC Santa Barbara), SS, Jr.; Ui Bal (CS Northridge), 3B, Fr.; Tiffany Pugmire (Utah State), OF, Fr.; Yasmin Mossadeghi (CS Fullerton), OF, Fr.; Veronica Lopez (CS Northridge), OF, So.; Jessica Smith (LB State), OF, Fr.; Cindy Ball (Pacific), UT, Fr.; Kristy Osborne (CS Fullerton), DP, Jr.

Los Angeles Times Articles