Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

DESTINATION: ARIZONA

Women Get in the Swing Across U.S.

March 05, 2000|JUDI DASH

A growing number of golf resorts and organizations are offering lessons specifically for women. Here is a sampling of U.S. programs in alphabetical order. Prices for instruction and accommodations are per person, double occupancy, and unless otherwise noted exclude air fare, meals, equipment rental and other incidentals.

* Canyon Ranch Health Resort, Tucson, telephone (800) 726-9900, Internet http://www.canyonranch.com. New 3,600-square-foot Golf Performance Center is part of a program that combines instruction with fitness, strength and flexibility training, as well as sports nutrition advice and spa treatments. Prices: Four-day packages start at $1,788; seven days start at $2,994. Two-day First Tee beginners' golf program can be selected in lieu of some spa and fitness services. First Tee golf lessons only, $340.

* Disney Institute, Orlando, Fla., tel. (800) 282-9282, Internet http://www.disneyinstitute.com. Golf programs are for men and women, but guests can request a women's group lesson or a private lesson with a pro who specializes in teaching women. Lessons are playful. Beginners don neon-colored Hula-Hoops to focus on circular arm movements and wield a broom to practice "sweeping" the tee. Price: $75 for three-hour group session.

* Equinox Resort, Manchester Village, Vt., tel. (800) 362-4747, Internet http://www.equinoxresort.com. Four-day women's golf clinic in conjunction with Golf Digest magazine from May 21 to 24. Price: $750; includes classes, tournament and meals.

* Marlene Floyd's for Women Only Golf Schools, tel. (800) 637-2694, Internet http://www.marlenefloyd.com. A 20-year veteran of the LPGA Tour, Floyd runs two-day schools at Palmetto Dunes in Hilton Head, S.C., and Wachesaw Plantation East in Myrtle Beach, S.C. Schools operate March to June and September to October. Price: $675, excluding lodging.

* Nicklaus/Flick Golf School, tel. (800) 642-5528, Internet http://www.nicklaus.com. This school, developed by golf greats Jack Nicklaus and Jim Flick, runs three-day women's programs. Dates are May 19 to 21 and Nov. 3 to 5 at Lake Las Vegas Resort in Henderson, Nev.; and April 17 to 19, Oct. 19 to 21 and Nov. 13 to 15 at Boca Raton Resort & Club in Florida. Price: $2,595.

* Pebble Beach Resorts, Monterey area, tel. (800) 654-9300, Internet http://www.pebblebeach .com. Two-day Golf Academy programs for corporate women include three nights at the Inn at Spanish Bay, breakfast and lunch daily, two days of instruction and one round of golf at the Pebble Beach Golf Links and the Links at Spanish Bay. Runs monthly, March through November. Price: from $2,685.

* PGA National Resort & Spa, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., tel. (800) 832-6235, Internet http:// pga-resorts.com. Last year the resort added three-day Ladies-Only Golf Schools to its well-respected Academy of Golf. The Ladies-Only program includes use of the resort's health and fitness center, a golf-club-fitting session and a personal video evaluation. Price: $1,962, including breakfast and lunch daily.

* Singing Hills Resort, El Cajon, Calif., tel. (888) 764-4566, Internet http://www.singinghills .com. Singing Hills' School of Golf for Women offers three- and five-day beginner sessions. Women teach all nine programs. Price: $1,295 for three days, $2,070 for five days; includes lessons and meals.

* Wyndham Grand Bay Resorts, tel. (888) 472-6229, Internet http://www.grandbay.com. Five resorts offer three-day beginner golf schools called Women to the Fore. Resorts are the Lodge at Ventana Canyon in Tucson; the Boulders in Carefree, Ariz.; Carmel Valley Ranch in Carmel, Calif.; the Peaks in Telluride, Colo.; and Isla Navidad near Manzanillo, Mexico.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|