YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Carr and Heinle Are Selected to All-Big Sky Men's Team

March 08, 2000

Sophomore Markus Carr and junior Brian Heinle of Cal State Northridge were selected to the All-Big Sky Conference men's basketball team.

Carr, a 6-foot-1 point guard who played at Palmdale High, led the conference in assists at 7.3 per game and was first in assist-to-turnover ratio. He averaged 8.4 points and 2.1 steals, which ranked third in the Big Sky.

Heinle, 6-9 center from Sheldon High in Eugene, Ore., ranked among the top 10 scorers and rebounders in the conference with averages of 15.1 points and 6.3 rebounds.

Junior forward Jeff Parris received honorable mention. He averaged 12.2 points and 4.7 rebounds. He made 58.9% of his shots to rank third in the conference.

Senior forward Harold Arceneaux of Weber State was a repeat selection as Big Sky player of the year. He led the conference in scoring with a 22.9 average and ranked in the top 10 in rebounding, field-goal percentage, free-throw percentage and blocked shots.

Ime Udoka, a senior forward for Portland State, was chosen newcomer of the year after transferring from San Francisco and was an all-conference selection. Center Stephan Bachman of Weber State, who is 6-10, was chosen outstanding freshman.

The all-conference team also included senior guard Ryan Hansen of Eastern Washington, senior guard Eddie Gill of Weber State, senior guard Ross Land of Northern Arizona, senior center Dan McClintock of Northern Arizona, senior guard Derek Nesland of Portland State, senior guard Deon Williams of Eastern Washington and senior forward Matt Williams of Montana.

Earning honorable mention were senior Anthony Flood of Cal State Sacramento, junior Chris White of Eastern Washington, senior Stephen Brown of Idaho State, senior Mike Warhank of Montana, sophomore Justin Brown of Montana State, senior Billy Hix of Northern Arizona and senior Hasan Artharee of Portland State.


Seniors Lynda Amari and Neda Milic of Cal State Northridge were selected unanimously to the All-Big Sky Conference women's basketball team.

Amari, a 6-1 forward from Moneteau, France, is a repeat selection. She made 48.7% of her shots, third-best in the conference, and averaged 10.3 points and 6.0 rebounds. She made 82.4% of her free throws.

Milic, a 6-1 forward from Belgrade, Serbia, received honorable mention last season. She made 45% of her shots, ranking fifth in the Big Sky, and averaged 11.6 points and 6.6 rebounds. She made 70.2% of her free throws.

Senior forward Linda Weyler of Montana was chosen player of the year. She averaged 12.2 points and 7.6 rebounds, including 13.6 points and 8.3 rebounds in conference play. She was all-conference last year and a unanimous selection this season.

Forward Crystal Howe of Weber State was selected freshman of the year and Simarron Schildt of Montana was chosen sixth player of the year.

Rounding out the all-conference team were sophomore forward Mandi Carver of Idaho State, junior forward Lauren Cooper of Montana, senior guard Tracy Ford-Phelps of Eastern Washington, junior guard Kristi Forman of Northern Arizona, senior guard Angela Munger of Idaho State, senior guard Shelley Olson of Weber State, sophomore forward Sephora Scoubes of Cal State Sacramento and senior guard Karrin Wilson of Portland State.

Cooper, Ford-Phelps and Olson were repeat selections, and Cooper and Olson were unanimous selections.

Earning honorable mention were Allie Bailey of Eastern Washington, Lindsey Foster of Northern Arizona, Meghan Geddes of Weber State; HiediHatcher of Portland State; Amy Meckling of Montana State, Serena Merrill of Montana State, Julie Moore of Eastern Washington, Krista Redpath of Montana and Chris Urbanski of Idaho State.


Clinte Motley, Brandi Prieto and Billy Bush of Cal State Northridge will compete in a national championship indoor track and field meet for the second consecutive weekend when the NCAA championships are held at University of Arkansas at Fayetteville on Friday and Saturday.

Motley is entered in the men's high jump and triple jump after finishing 10th in the latter in the USA championships at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta last week.

Prieto will compete in the women's triple jump after finishing eighth in Atlanta.

Bush has qualified for the NCAA championships in the men's shotput. He placed fifth in that event and 12th in the 35-weight throw in the USA championships.

Los Angeles Times Articles