YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Pro Bowl Overlooks 9-5 Titans

December 20, 2002|From Associated Press

NEW YORK — The Tennessee Titans just got new incentive in their quest for an NFL title.

No Pro Bowl players.

"I'm quite sure a lot of players on this team deserved it, but that's how it works," quarterback Steve McNair said after the AFC South leaders were ignored in Pro Bowl balloting announced Thursday. "We don't have any control over that. But it's a team thing now for us. To solve all this, we just got to go to the Super Bowl and win it."

The Philadelphia Eagles, leading the race to be top-seeded in the NFC playoffs, had the most Pro Bowlers with seven, including three-fourths of their secondary. San Francisco and Miami, two other division leaders, each had six.

But the Titans, leading the AFC South at 9-5, were ignored in voting conducted in thirds: one-third by players, one-third by coaches, one-third by fans on

"We feel we had players who had seasons worthy enough to be selected over there, we just go on," Coach Jeff Fisher said.

In contrast to Tennessee, the expansion Houston Texans had two players chosen, and the 1-13 Cincinnati Bengals had one, fullback Lorenzo Neal, who used to play for the Titans. The other teams without players chosen were .500 or worse: Cleveland, Detroit and Arizona.

"That we're 11-3 helps," said Philadelphia cornerback Troy Vincent, who was selected along with cornerback Bobby Taylor and safety Brian Dawkins. "The team success gives you momentum, and defensively we've been playing well."

The selections cover two generations.

Oakland wide receiver Jerry Rice, 40, was chosen for the 13th time, the first time he has made it since 1999, when he played for the 49ers. Raider safety Rod Woodson, 37, was chosen for the 11th time. San Diego linebacker Junior Seau made it for the 12th straight season.

The game is Feb. 2 in Honolulu.



Pro Bowl Teams

Game on Feb. 2 in Honolulu; TV: Channel 7



Wide receivers -- Terrell Owens, San Francisco; Joe Horn, New Orleans; Randy Moss, Minnesota; Marty Booker, Chicago.

Tackles -- Tra Thomas, Philadelphia; Walter Jones, Seattle; Orlando Pace, St. Louis.

Guards -- Ron Stone, San Francisco; Jermane Mayberry, Philadelphia; Marco Rivera, Green Bay.

Centers -- Olin Kreutz, Chicago; Jeremy Newberry, San Francisco.

Tight ends -- Bubba Franks, Green Bay; Jeremy Shockey, N.Y. Giants.

Quarterbacks -- Brett Favre, Green Bay; Michael Vick, Atlanta; Jeff Garcia, San Francisco.

Running backs -- Deuce McAllister, New Orleans; Ahman Green, Green Bay; Marshall Faulk, St. Louis.

Fullback -- Mike Alstott, Tampa Bay.


Ends -- Simeon Rice, Tampa Bay; Michael Strahan, N.Y. Giants; Hugh Douglas, Philadelphia.

Interior linemen -- Warren Sapp, Tampa Bay; La'Roi Glover, Dallas; Bryant Young, San Francisco.

Outside linebackers -- Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay; LaVar Arrington, Washington; Julian Peterson, San Francisco.

Inside linebackers -- Brian Urlacher, Chicago; Keith Brooking, Atlanta.

Cornerbacks -- Troy Vincent, Philadelphia; Champ Bailey, Washington; Bobby Taylor, Philadelphia.

Strong safety -- John Lynch, Tampa Bay.

Free safeties -- Darren Sharper, Green Bay; Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia.


Punter -- Todd Sauerbrun, Carolina.

Placekicker -- David Akers, Philadelphia.

Kick returner -- Michael Lewis, New Orleans.

Special team player -- Fred McAfee, New Orleans.




Wide receivers -- Marvin Harrison, Indianapolis; Jerry Rice, Oakland; Hines Ward, Pittsburgh; Eric Moulds, Buffalo.

Tackles -- Jonathan Ogden, Baltimore; Willie Roaf, Kansas City; Lincoln Kennedy, Oakland.

Guards -- Will Shields, Kansas City; Alan Faneca, Pittsburgh; Ruben Brown, Buffalo.

Centers -- Kevin Mawae, N.Y. Jets; Barrett Robbins, Oakland.

Tight ends -- Tony Gonzalez, Kansas City; Todd Heap, Baltimore.

Quarterbacks -- Rich Gannon, Oakland; Drew Bledsoe, Buffalo; Peyton Manning, Indianapolis.

Running backs -- Priest Holmes, Kansas City; Ricky Williams, Miami; LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego.

Fullback -- Lorenzo Neal, Cincinnati.


Ends -- Jason Taylor, Miami; Trevor Pryce, Denver; John Abraham, N.Y. Jets.

Interior linemen -- Gary Walker, Houston; Richard Seymour, New England; Tim Bowens, Miami.

Outside linebackers -- Joey Porter, Pittsburgh; Junior Seau, San Diego; Peter Boulware, Baltimore.

Inside linebackers -- Zach Thomas, Miami; Al Wilson, Denver.

Cornerbacks -- Aaron Glenn, Houston; Patrick Surtain, Miami; Ty Law, New England.

Strong safety -- Lawyer Milloy, New England.

Free safeties -- Rod Woodson, Oakland; Brock Marion, Miami.


Punter -- Chris Hanson, Jacksonville.

Placekicker -- Adam Vinatieri, New England.

Kick returner -- Danta Hall, Kansas City.

Special team player -- Larry Izzo, New England.

Los Angeles Times Articles