Advertisement

THE RECALL CAMPAIGN

Recall Timeline

August 10, 2003

The recall election is set for Oct. 7. The schedule for the next 58 days includes:

Monday, Aug. 11

Secretary of State Kevin Shelley conducts a random drawing to determine the order of the ballot, which is different in each of the state's 80 Assembly districts.

Wednesday, Aug. 13

Shelley must issue the final certified list of candidates.

Thursday, Aug. 28

Campaign committees and individual candidates file their first pre-election report on fund-raising and spending from July 1 through Aug. 23.

Monday, Sept. 8

Absentee ballots are scheduled to be available, and addresses of polling places are supposed to be published.

Monday, Sept. 22

Deadline for registering to vote for the recall election.

Tuesday, Sept. 23

Deadline for filing as a write-in candidate.

Thursday, Sept. 25

Second pre-election campaign finance report, covering Aug. 24 through Sept. 20.

Saturday, Sept. 27

Voter pamphlets are scheduled to be mailed to the roughly 11 million households in California.

Tuesday, Sept. 30

Last day to apply for an absentee voter ballot by mail.

Tuesday, Oct. 7

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|