YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Television & Radio

CBS leads the pack with 53 Daytime Emmy nods

March 05, 2004|Maria Elena Fernandez | Times Staff Writer

Continuing its domination of daytime television, CBS received 53 nominations for the 31st annual Daytime Emmy Awards, announced Thursday in New York. The network again had the most nods and the most-nominated program, "The Young and the Restless," which took 16 bids.

"All My Children," a soap opera on ABC, and CBS' soap "Guiding Light" were next, garnering 14 nominations apiece. ABC earned 50 nominations, followed by PBS with 35 and NBC with 19. The awards will be presented May 21 in New York.

All four of CBS' soap operas, "The Young and the Restless," "Guiding Light," "As the World Turns," and "The Bold and the Beautiful," and ABC's "General Hospital" will vie for outstanding drama series.

"The Ellen DeGeneres Show," a freshman show, received 11 nominations, more than any other talk program. It's up for outstanding talk show and talk show host. The show will compete against "Dr. Phil," "The View," "Live With Regis and Kelly" and last year's winner, "The Wayne Brady Show," which received six nominations despite being canceled.

Among the PBS nominations, 11 went to "Sesame Street." Other children's show nominations included seven for PBS' "Between the Lions," five for the Disney Channel's "Bear in the Big Blue House" and four for "Blue's Clues." Cable's Showtime and the Disney Channel received 11 and 10 nominations, respectively, all for children's programming.

Game show host Bob Barker, who March 1 celebrated his 6,000th episode hosting "The Price Is Right" on CBS, was nominated for game show host. Barker is competing against Alex Trebek of "Jeopardy" and Meredith Vieira of ABC's "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire."

Some of the other major nominations:

Lead actress, drama series: Maura West (Carly Tenney Snyder), "As the World Turns," CBS; Nancy Lee Grahn (Alexis Davis), "General Hospital," ABC; Tamara Braun (Carly Corinthos), "General Hospital," ABC; Kim Zimmer (Reva Shayne Lewis), "Guiding Light," CBS; Michelle Stafford (Phyllis Abbott), "The Young and the Restless," CBS.

Lead actor, drama series: Roger Howarth (Paul Ryan), "As the World Turns," CBS; Anthony Geary (Luke Spencer), "General Hospital," ABC; Maurice Bernard (Sonny Corinthos), "General Hospital," ABC; Grant Aleksander (Phillip Spaulding), "Guiding Light," CBS; Thorsten Kaye (Ian Thornhart), "Port Charles," ABC; Eric Braeden (Victor Newman), "The Young and the Restless," CBS.

The awards, which are for shows that aired between 2 a.m. and 6 p.m. in 2003, are administered by the New York-based National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in Los Angeles. The awards show will air on NBC.

Los Angeles Times Articles