YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Manning Has Hot Hand in AFC Win

February 14, 2005|From Associated Press

HONOLULU — Peyton Manning was still at the peak of his game in the Pro Bowl, and Michael Vick showed he's only beginning the climb.

Manning threw three touchdown passes to extend his career record in the NFL's All-Star game, and Vick led the NFC to 17 points in a second-half rally that fell short in the AFC's 38-27 victory Sunday.

Pittsburgh's Hines Ward caught a touchdown pass and returned an on-side kick for a score, and three San Diego Chargers led the clinching touchdown drive in the fourth quarter of the AFC's seventh victory in nine meetings.

Manning, the regular-season most valuable player after breaking Dan Marino's NFL record with 49 touchdown passes, completed only six passes for 130 yards. But three were spectacular scoring tosses, and the Indianapolis Colt quarterback was selected the MVP in his fifth trip to the Pro Bowl.

The game didn't quite have the offensive fireworks of last season's 107-point marathon, but Manning and Vick, the Atlanta Falcon quarterback, thrilled the 26th consecutive sellout crowd at Aloha Stadium with exhibitions of their strengths: Manning's throws and Vick's elusiveness and creativity.

Manning has thrown 11 touchdown passes in the Pro Bowl, four more than any other quarterback. He connected with Colt teammate Marvin Harrison, Ward and San Diego's Antonio Gates in the first 25 minutes while the AFC built a 28-10 halftime lead.

But Vick, with the Atlanta coaching staff calling the plays, led three consecutive scoring drives after entering the game in the third quarter. Vick was 14 for 24 for 205 yards and a touchdown.

The Super Bowl quarterbacks had considerably quieter outings. NFC starter Donovan McNabb of the Philadelphia Eagles was one for eight with an interception, and Tom Brady of the New England Patriots was four for nine for 48 yards in two series that produced one field goal.



Most Valuable QBs

Quarterbacks have been named MVP in the Pro Bowl 12 times:

2005 -- Peyton Manning, Indianapolis

2004 -- Marc Bulger, St. Louis

2002 -- Rich Gannon, Oakland

2001 -- Rich Gannon, Oakland

1998 -- Warren Moon, Seattle

1997 -- Mark Brunell, Jacksonville

1991 -- Jim Kelly, Buffalo

1989 -- Randall Cunningham, Philadelphia

1986 -- Phil Simms, New York Giants

1984 -- Joe Theismann, Washington

1983 -- Dan Fouts, San Diego

1975 -- James Harris, L.A. Rams

Los Angeles Times Articles