Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Joel Stein / LOVE YOUR WORK

Blogosphere Blowback

Last Sunday, we let readers excoriate or rhapsodize about Joel Stein at www.opinionblog.com. That's where the discussion continues (including a new video clip of Stein mumbling in his own defense). Join the food fight or content yourselves with the edited excerpts below:

June 12, 2005

Who are these blockheads who don't like Joel??? Do they not understand humor if it's not Benny Hill??? I'm over 50 and adore his writing.

-- hope, June 5, 2005, 08:05 AM

*

I enjoyed him in Time and now I can enjoy him in The Times. Smart, snarky observations are totally underrated by our society.

Viva Stein!

Stein for President!

-- Caron, June 5, 2005, 09:12 AM

*

Do NOT give Joel Stein the axe! He has a fresh, funny and irreverent voice and provides comic relief between all the dour stuff in the L.A. Times [Opinion] section.

My advice for the folks who can't stand him: Skip to the next column -- similar to the way you turn the dial on a tv or radio program you don't care for. It's just that simple.

Jeff, June 5, 2005, 09:46 AM

*

I've had the dubious pleasure of reading Joel Stein's columns ever since Stanford, and I must say that I have not once found them funny or insightful or diverting.

-- John, June 5, 2005, 11:26 AM

*

As for the alleged convergence of Joel Stein and humor, I understand the basis of the theoretical construct.

Take a self-identified loser, have him make deliberately pompous and idiotic statements about other people -- and then label it cutting edge satire.

-- Brady, June 5, 2005, 10:09 AM

*

Today was the first time I read Joel Stein's column and I loved it. In fact, I liked it so much that I began reading all his past columns and find them incredibly funny and sarcastic.

-- Mirna, June 5, 2005, 10:34 AM

*

I love Joel Stein (not like that) and can't imagine the L.A. Times without him. Actually, I want to be Joel Stein.

-- Gary, June 5, 2005, 11:18 AM

*

Thank you, LA Times editors. Giving the readers a forum to discuss that horrid Joel Stein is like Christmas in June. I've read his LA Times columns for six months and written letters expressing my disbelief at his continued employment. Joel Stein is simply an untalented and unfunny writer.

-- Mimsy, June 5, 2005, 12:12 PM

*

It's an Ayn Rand world out there. And without the L.A. Times' guileless, continued effort to squash and squander the hopes and aspirations of those who seek to speak original thoughts, who knows what horrors we all might have to endure in the way of intelligent publications.... Joel Stein's work is not so much journalism or creative expression or transcendent art as it is a Godly service to the greater good of all mankind.

-- John, June 5, 2005, 12:50 PM

*

I find it ironic that David Shaw's column that appears in Calendar is often much more serious, insightful and compelling than the more drivel-laden pieces of Joel Stein.

-- Jam, June 5, 2005, 02:13 PM

*

We need some blatantly meaningless drivel in the Opinion section to balance the idiotic pomposity.

-- David, June 5, 2005, 03:37 PM

*

Please, please, please for the love of all that is good and holy, dump Joel Stein from the Opinion section.

Adam, June 6, 2005, 12:10 Peter M. Camejo (Green)

*

...This "Writer" like T.J. Simers does create a lot of conversation.

However I don't believe this improves the quality of The Times but rather brings it down to the level of "Right Wing Talk Radio."

-- Gene, June 6, 2005, 02:56 PM

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|