YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


2006 nominees

December 08, 2006

To be eligible, recordings must have been released between the dates of Oct. 1, 2005, through Sept. 30, 2006.


Record of the Year

"Be Without You," Mary J. Blige (Bryan-Michael Cox, producer; Danny Cheung, Tal Herzberg and Dave "Hard-Drive" Pensado, engineers/mixers); "You're Beautiful," James Blunt (Tom Rothrock, producer; Tom Rothrock and Mike Tarantino, engineers/mixers); "Not Ready to Make Nice," Dixie Chicks (Rick Rubin, producer; Richard Dodd, Jim Scott and Chris Testa, engineers/mixers); "Crazy," Gnarls Barkley (Danger Mouse, producer; Ben H. Allen, Danger Mouse and Kennie Takahashi, engineers/mixers); "Put Your Records On," Corinne Bailey Rae (Steve Chrisanthou, producer; Steve Chrisanthou and Jeremy Wheatley, engineers/mixers)

Album of the Year

"Taking the Long Way," Dixie Chicks (Rick Rubin, producer; Richard Dodd, Jim Scott and Chris Testa, engineers/mixers; Richard Dodd, mastering engineer); "St. Elsewhere," Gnarls Barkley (Danger Mouse, producer; Ben H. Allen, Danger Mouse and Kennie Takahashi, engineers/mixers; Mike Lazer, mastering engineer); "Continuum," John Mayer (Steve Jordan and John Mayer, producers; John Alagia, Michael Brauer, Joe Ferla, Chad Franscoviak, Manny Marroquin and Dave O'Donnell, engineers/mixers; Greg Calbi, mastering engineer); "Stadium Arcadium," Red Hot Chili Peppers (Rick Rubin, producer; Ryan Hewitt, Mark Linette and Andrew Scheps, engineers/mixers; Vlado Meller, mastering engineer); "FutureSex/LoveSounds," Justin Timberlake (Nate (Danga) Hills, Jawbreakers, Rick Rubin, Timbaland and Justin Timberlake, producers; Jimmy Douglass, Serban Ghenea, Padraic Kerin, Jason Lader, Andrew Scheps, Timbaland and Ethan Willoughby, engineers/mixers; Herb Powers Jr., mastering engineer)

Song of the Year

"Be Without You," Johnta Austin, Mary J. Blige, Bryan-Michael Cox and Jason Perry, songwriters (Mary J. Blige); "Jesus, Take the Wheel," Brett James, Hillary Lindsey and Gordie Sampson, songwriters (Carrie Underwood); "Not Ready to Make Nice," Martie Maguire, Natalie Maines, Emily Robison and Dan Wilson, songwriters (Dixie Chicks); "Put Your Records On," John Beck, Steve Chrisanthou and Corinne Bailey Rae, songwriters (Corinne Bailey Rae); "You're Beautiful," James Blunt, Amanda Ghost and Sacha Skarbek, songwriters (James Blunt)

New Artist

James Blunt; Chris Brown; Imogen Heap; Corinne Bailey Rae; Carrie Underwood


Female Pop Vocal Performance

"Ain't No Other Man," Christina Aguilera; "Unwritten," Natasha Bedingfield; "You Can Close Your Eyes," Sheryl Crow; "Stupid Girls," Pink; "Black Horse and the Cherry Tree," KT Tunstall

Male Pop Vocal Performance

"You're Beautiful," James Blunt; "Save Room," John Legend; "Waiting on the World to Change," John Mayer; "Jenny Wren," Paul McCartney; "Bad Day," Daniel Powter

Pop Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocal

"My Humps," The Black Eyed Peas; "I Will Follow You Into the Dark," Death Cab for Cutie; "Over My Head (Cable Car)," The Fray; "Is It Any Wonder?" Keane; "Stickwitu," The Pussycat Dolls

Pop Collaboration With Vocals

"For Once in My Life," Tony Bennett and Stevie Wonder; "One," Mary J. Blige and U2; "Always on Your Side," Sheryl Crow and Sting; "Promiscuous," Nelly Furtado and Timbaland; "Hips Don't Lie," Shakira and Wyclef Jean

Pop Instrumental Performance

"Mornin'," George Benson (and Al Jarreau); "Drifting," Enya; "Subterfuge," Bela Fleck and the Flecktones; "Song H," Bruce Hornsby; "My Favorite Things," The Brian Setzer Orchestra

Pop Instrumental Album

"New Beginnings," Gerald Albright; "Fire Wire," Larry Carlton; "X," Fourplay; "Fingerprints," Peter Frampton; "Wrapped in a Dream," Spyro Gyra

Pop Vocal Album

"Back to Basics," Christina Aguilera; "Back to Bedlam," James Blunt; "The River in Reverse," Elvis Costello and Allen Toussaint; "Continuum," John Mayer; "FutureSex/LoveSounds," Justin Timberlake


Dance Recording

"Suffer Well," Depeche Mode (Ben Hillier, producer; Steve Fitzmaurice and Ben Hillier, mixers); "Ooh La La," Goldfrapp (Goldfrapp, producers; Mark "Spike" Stent, mixer); "Get Together," Madonna (Madonna and Stuart Price, producers; Mark "Spike" Stent, mixer); "I'm With Stupid," Pet Shop Boys (Trevor Horn, producer; Robert Orton, mixer); "Sexy Back," Justin Timberlake and Timbaland (Danja, Timbaland and Justin Timberlake, producers; Jimmy Douglass, mixer)

Electronic/Dance Album

"Supernature," Goldfrapp; "Confessions on a Dance Floor," Madonna; "A Lively Mind," Oakenfold; "Fundamental," Pet Shop Boys; "The Garden," Zero 7


Traditional Pop Vocal Album

"Duets: An American Classic," Tony Bennett; "Caught in the Act," Michael Buble; "Wintersong," Sarah McLachlan; "Bette Midler Sings the Peggy Lee Songbook," Bette Midler; "Timeless Love," Smokey Robinson


Solo Rock Vocal Performance

"Nausea," Beck; "Someday Baby," Bob Dylan; "Route 66," John Mayer; "Saving Grace," Tom Petty; "Lookin' for a Leader," Neil Young

Los Angeles Times Articles