YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Learning milestones

California's educational system dates to 1849, but new campuses are still being added.

September 12, 2006


1849 The newly approved California Constitution, stating that "the Legislature shall encourage by all suitable means the promotion of intellectual, scientific, moral, and agricultural improvement," calls for the establishment of a University of California. Twenty years will pass before classes begin.

1851 Santa Clara College (now Santa Clara University) opens.

* The California Supreme Court, itself in its first year of existence, charters California Wesleyan College in Santa Clara. The first class is enrolled the next year.

1852 Mills College is founded as the Young Ladies Seminary in Benicia. School moves to Oakland in 1866.

1855 University of San Francisco opens with three students.

1858 The West Coast's first medical school opens at Wesleyan. (In 1961 the college becomes known as University of the Pacific.)

For The Record
Los Angeles Times Friday September 22, 2006 Home Edition Main News Part A Page 2 National Desk 0 inches; 26 words Type of Material: Correction
Education timeline: A photo caption that ran with a timeline in the Education special section on Sept. 12 misspelled actress Joan Vohs' name as Joan Voss.

1861 Chapman University is founded (as Hesperian College) in Northern California. It moves to its present location in Orange in 1954.

1862 Minns' Evening Normal School, established in 1857 as a training facility for elementary school teachers by the San Francisco Board of Education, becomes California Normal School. The school moves to San Jose in 1871 and today is San Jose State University.

1869 At last, the University of California opens with 38 students on the grounds of the former College of California in Oakland.

1873 The University of California, now with 191 students, moves to Berkeley.

1880 The University of Southern California opens with 53 students and 10 teachers.

1885 Southern California's first school of medicine opens at USC.

1887 Pomona College is founded 35 miles east of Los Angeles and opens its doors the next year.

* Chico State University begins as a state Normal School.

1891 Stanford University, created by Leland and Jane Stanford in memory of their late son, opens in Palo Alto after six years of planning and building.

* Pasadena philanthropist Amos Throop rents the Wooster Block building in Pasadena for the purpose of establishing Throop University, the forerunner of Caltech. In November, Throop University opens its doors to 31 students and a six-member faculty.

1897 San Diego State University begins as the San Diego Normal School, another training facility for elementary school teachers.

1899 Azusa Pacific University starts life as a Bible college geared toward training students for service and missionary endeavors.

* State creates San Francisco Normal School.



1901 Whittier College, which grew out of the Whittier Academy, is chartered by the state with a student body of 25.

* The California Polytechnic School is established in San Luis Obispo.

1905 Prodded by dairy operators, the Legislature approves the establishment of a UC agricultural college. Davisville -- later Davis -- wins the competition for the campus. Classes start three years later.

1907 The Legislature establishes the Citrus Experiment Station in Riverside, the forerunner of UC Riverside.

1909 The University of Redlands opens to 59 students.

* State turns an existing city normal school into Santa Barbara State Normal School. It joins the UC system in 1944.



1910 The state's first public junior college, Fresno Junior College, opens. Today, it is Fresno City College.

1911 A State Normal School is established at Fresno; Humboldt gets a Normal School in 1913.

1912 USC athletic teams are dubbed the "Trojans" by Los Angeles Times sportswriter Owen R. Bird.

1914 Occidental College moves from Highland Park to its current location in Eagle Rock.

1917 Jessica Peixotto becomes the first female full professor at the University of California.

1919 The Southern Branch of the University of California -- which will become UCLA -- opens on Vermont Avenue in Los Angeles



1921 California's "normal schools" are designated "teachers colleges."

1925 The UC regents choose Westwood as the new site of the Southern Branch campus.

1929 UCLA's Westwood campus opens with 5,500 students.

* Los Angeles City College is founded.



1935 Caltech's Charles Richter, in collaboration with Beno Gutenberg, develops a scale to measure the size of earthquakes.

* California's "teachers colleges" become "state colleges."

1938 California State Polytechnic School establishes a southern campus at San Dimas.

* University of California reports the largest enrollment of any "educational institution of its kind," according to The Times. Berkeley and UCLA combined for a total of 24,809; the University of Minnesota came in second with 15,146; Columbia University was third with 14,980.



1944 The G.I. Bill of Rights makes college possible for millions returning from war.

1947 Los Angeles and Sacramento state colleges are established. Long Beach is founded in 1949.



1950 UC regents dismiss 31 professors who refuse to sign an anti-Communist loyalty oath. Two years later, after the California Supreme Court strikes down the loyalty oaths, the professors are reinstated.

1954 UC Riverside opens.

Los Angeles Times Articles