YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Mexico beats Paraguay, 6-0

July 09, 2007|From the Associated Press

MATURIN, VENEZUELA — Mexico took advantage of being a man up from the third minute to shut out Paraguay, 6-0, on Sunday to advance to the Copa America semifinals.

Paraguay lost goalkeeper Aldo Bobadilla when he was given a red card for a sliding tackle on Nery Castillo, setting up a penalty shot that the forward converted to the left of substitute Joel Zayas.

Zayas, Paraguay's third-string goalkeeper, took the field in place of midfielder Jonathan Santana.

Mexico made it 2-0 on a driving shot from Gerardo Torrado in the 22nd minute. Castillo trapped a Juan Carlos Cacho pass with his chest and allowed one bounce before scoring in the 38th minute.

Fernando Arce made it 4-0 in the 78th minute. Cuauhtemoc Blanco hit a penalty in the 87th, and replacement Omar Bravo headed in Jamie Lozano's pass in injury time to cap the scoring.

After losing to the U.S., 2-1, in the final of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, Mexico arrived in Venezuela missing key players -- including career leading scorer Jared Borgetti -- to injury. Despite that, Mexico finished undefeated atop Group B.


Argentina used four second-half goals, including two by Juan Roman Riquelme, to beat Peru, 4-0. It will play Mexico in a semifinal match Wednesday.

Riquelme opened the scoring in the 47th minute as he muscled a left-footed shot past diving goalkeeper Leao Butron.

In the 61st minute, Riquelme sent a pass to Lionel Messi, who slipped the ball between Butron's legs for a 2-0 lead.

In the 75th minute, Mascherano scored off a give-and-go by Messi and Carlos Tevez. Riquelme had his fourth goal of the tournament in the 85th minute.

Uruguay will face Brazil on Tuesday in the other semifinal.



All times Pacific:


* Tuesday: at Maracaibo, Venezuela

Uruguay vs. Brazil, 5:45 p.m.

* Wednesday: at Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela

Mexico vs. Argentina, 5:45 p.m.


* Saturday: at Caracas, Venezuela

Semifinal losers, 2 p.m.


* Sunday: at Maracaibo, Venezuela

Semifinal winners, 2 p.m.

Los Angeles Times Articles