YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Producers ignore Globes' picks

Golden Globe winners 'Atonement' and 'Sweeney Todd' don't make the cut in nominations for the PGA awards.

January 15, 2008|Susan King | Times Staff Writer

"The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," "Juno," "Michael Clayton," "No Country for Old Men" and "There Will Be Blood" were nominated Monday for the Producers Guild of America's top honors.

Notably missing from the list were "Atonement," which won the Golden Globe Award on Sunday as best dramatic picture of 2007, and the Globe winner in the musical or comedy category, "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street."

Since its inception in 1990, the honor -- called the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures -- had been a reliable bellwether for the best picture Academy Award. But over the last three years, the PGA winners ("The Aviator" in 2005, "Brokeback Mountain" in 2006 and "Little Miss Sunshine" last year) lost Oscar's top prize.

Nominees for producer of the year in the animated motion picture category are "Bee Movie," "Ratatouille" and "The Simpsons Movie."

Documentary feature nominees are "Body of War," "Hear and Now," "Pete Seeger: The Power of Song," "Sicko" and "White Light/Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki."

"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee," "The Bronx Is Burning," "High School Musical 2," "Jane Eyre" and "The Starter Wife" are vying for the David L. Wolper Producer of the Year Award in long-form television.

Other nominees in TV:

In contention for best episodic comedy are "Entourage," "Extras," "The Office," "30 Rock" and "Ugly Betty." The nominees for episodic drama are "Dexter," "Grey's Anatomy," "Heroes," "House," "Lost" and "The Sopranos." Nominees in the nonfiction TV category are "Deadliest Catch," "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition," "Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List," "Planet Earth" and "60 Minutes." The live entertainment/competition contenders are "The Amazing Race," "American Idol," "The Colbert Report," "Project Runway" and "Real Time With Bill Maher."

Several honorary awards will also be handed out at the 19th annual gala Feb. 2, including the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures to Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to Dick Wolf and the Stanley Kramer Award to "The Great Debaters."


Los Angeles Times Articles