Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

AROUND THE LEAGUE

Baseball doesn't give scorer an error

September 04, 2008|From the Associated Press

MILWAUKEE -- Upon further review, the play stands.

Major League Baseball's scoring review committee ruled Wednesday that official scorer Bob Webb did not err when he decided that Pittsburgh's Andy LaRoche singled against Brewers pitcher CC Sabathia in the bottom of the fifth inning of Milwaukee's 7-0 win Sunday.

Sabathia tried to make a barehanded pickup of LaRoche's softly hit grounder, but dropped it. Webb immediately ruled it a hit, explaining he watched LaRoche out of the batter's box and the runner was two-thirds of the way down the line as Sabathia was picking the ball up.

On Wednesday, the committee viewed footage of the play in question and considered the documentation presented by the Brewers. But the committee ruled that Webb's judgment was not "clearly erroneous," which is the standard set forth in Official Scoring Rule 10.01(a), and did not meet the criteria for reversal.

If the call had been reversed, it would have been the second no-hitter in Brewers history after Juan Nieves' performance on April 15, 1987 in a 7-0 win against Baltimore.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|