YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

'Slumdog' reaps honors from three Hollywood groups

Organizations of art directors, editors and cinematographers salute film and television efforts.

February 16, 2009|Susan King

Oscar front-runner "Slumdog Millionaire" continued its winning ways, receiving guild awards for production design, cinematography and editing over the weekend.

The Art Directors Guild honored Mark Digby for excellence in production design of a contemporary film for "Slumdog Millionaire" on Saturday evening at a gala ceremony at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Donald Graham Burt won in the period film category for "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" and Nathan Crowley earned the award for fantasy film for "The Dark Knight."

In the television categories, Dan Bishop took home the guild award for a single-camera TV series for "The Jet Set" episode of AMC's "Mad Men," and Greg Grande and Michael Wylie earned the award for multi-camera TV series for Episode 4 of HBO's "Little Britain USA."

Gemma Jackson was the recipient for the TV movie or miniseries honor for the HBO miniseries "John Adams," with Joseph P. Lucky receiving the award for half-hour single-camera TV series for the "Excellent Treasures" installment of Showtime's "Weeds." Rounding out the TV honors was Roy Christopher for award show, variety, music or nonfiction program for "The 80th Annual Academy Awards."

Anthony Dod Mantle received the top honor for "Slumdog Millionaire" at the 23rd annual American Society of Cinematographers' Outstanding Achievement Awards on Sunday at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel.

On the TV side, Nelson Cragg won in the episodic TV category for the "For Gedda" episode of CBS' "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation," with David Stockton earning the TV movie/miniseries/pilot honor for the pilot of CBS' "Eleventh Hour."

The ASC Board of Governors Award was given to "The Dark Knight" director-writer-producer Christopher Nolan for his contributions to the art of filmmaking. Jack Green was given the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award, and the ASC International Achievement Award was handed out to Donald McAlpine. Robert "Bobby" Liu earned the ASC Career Achievement Award in TV, and the Presidents Award was presented to Isidore Mankofsky.

Chris Dickens was given the best-edited feature film award for drama for "Slumdog Millionaire" at the 59th annual ACE Eddie Awards on Sunday evening at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Stephen Schaffer also won the American Cinema Editors' honors for best-edited feature film comedy or musical for "Wall-E." Jinx Godfrey earned best-edited documentary for "Man on Wire."

Winners for TV were Meg Reticker for half-hour series for NBC's "30 Rock: The Reunion"; Lynne Willingham in the one-hour series for commercial TV category for the pilot of AMC's "Breaking Bad"; and Michael Ruscio and Andy Keir for one-hour series for noncommercial TV for the "Strange Love" installment of HBO's "True Blood."

Alan Baumgarten received the guild award for miniseries or motion picture for noncommercial TV for HBO's "Recount," and Scott Powell won in the commercial TV category for Fox's "24: Redemption."

Leonard Feinstein and Phontaine won in the non-scripted/reality series category for "Greensburg: The Tornado."

The student editing competition was won by Junna Xiao of the American Film Institute.


Los Angeles Times Articles