YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Ryan Briscoe takes pole at Watkins Glen

Josh Grant wins Motocross event in Michigan.

July 05, 2009|Associated Press

Ryan Briscoe won the pole Saturday for the IRL's Camping World Grand Prix at Watkins Glen International in Watkins Glen, N.Y.

A week after spinning out at Richmond, Va., Briscoe won his second straight pole on the 11-curve, 3.4-mile road course with a fast time of 1 minute 28.5970 seconds in the Firestone Fast Six Shootout, breaking the track record held by Helio Castroneves by more than a second.

Justin Wilson qualified second for the second straight time, in 1:29.3106, ahead of Scott Dixon, Mario Moraes and Graham Rahal, who was penalized 10 spots for failing a tech inspection after the race.

Dario Franchitti crashed entering the final turn during the shootout and will start fifth, just ahead of rookie Mike Conway and Danica Patrick.

The 60-lap race is today.



Josh Grant became the AMA Pro Motocross Championship series' seventh first-time winner of the season, beating Chad Reed in the 450 Class in the Monster Energy Motocross National from RedBud in Buchanan, Mich.

Grant, the rookie rider from Riverside, was second in the first moto, nearly stealing the win from Reed, then held off Ivan Tedesco in the second moto.

Reed, the season points leader, was third in the second moto.

In the 250 Class, Jake Weimer raced to his second consecutive victory.



Jason Bowles of Ontario took over the lead from Jeff Barkshire on the 87th lap and went on to win the King Taco 200 NASCAR Camping World Series at Toyota Speedway in Irwindale.

Bowles scored his second consecutive victory of the season and third consecutive series victory at Irwindale.

Los Angeles Times Articles