YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Decking the Hall with Bruins and Trojans

A rundown of the 37 players from UCLA and USC who have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

November 23, 2009

Thirty-seven players from UCLA and USC have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, enough for the Bruins and Trojans to warrant their own wing. Twenty-eight hail from USC, nine from UCLA. Here's an alphabetical list of the players, with selected key performances from the crosstown rivalry game:


PLAYER POSITION LETTERED INDUCTEDMarcus Allen* Running back 1978-81 2000Jon Arnett Halfback 1954-56 2001John Baker Guard 1929-31 1983Ricky Bell** Running back 1973-76 2003Tay Brown Tackle 1930-32 1980Brad Budde Guard 1976-79 1998Paul Cleary End 1946-47 1989Anthony Davis Running back 1972-74 2005Morley Drury Quarterback 1925-27 1954John Ferraro Tackle 1943-47 1974Mike Garrett Running back 1963-65 1985Frank Gifford Halfback 1949-51 1975Mort Kaer Running back 1924-26 1972Ronnie Lott Safety 1977-80 2002Mike McKeever Guard 1958-60 1987Dan McMillan Tackle 1917, '19 1971Erny Pinckert Running back 1929-31 1957Marvin Powell Tackle 1974-76 1994Aaron Rosenberg Guard 1931-33 1966O.J. Simpson*** Running back 1967-68 1983Ernie Smith Tackle 1930-32 1970Harry Smith Guard 1937-39 1955Lynn Swann Wide receiver 1971-73 1993Cotton Warburton Quarterback 1932-34 1975Charles White Running back 1976-79 1996Richard Wood Linebacker 1972-74 2007Ron Yary Tackle 1965-67 1987Charles Young Tight end 1970-72 2004*Allen rushed for 219 yards and scored the game-winning touchdown with 2:19 left in the fourth quarter to lead USC to a 22-21 comeback victory over UCLA in 1981. His performance dashed the Bruins' hopes for a Rose Bowl bid.

**Playing on a balky ankle, Bell rushed for 167 yards to help USC defeat UCLA, 24-14, in 1976. The victory sealed the Trojans' Rose Bowl berth over the conference runner-up Bruins.

***Simpson's 64-yard touchdown run with 10:38 left in the game propelled the Trojans to a 21-20 triumph over the Bruins in 1967. The run helped USC advance to the Rose Bowl and, ultimately, win the national championship, and it is considered one of the most famous runs in college football history.


PLAYER POSITION LETTERED INDUCTEDTroy Aikman* Quarterback 1987-88 2008Gary Beban** Quarterback 1965-67 1988Kenny Easley Safety 1977-80 1991Tom Fears Wide receiver 1946-47 1976Bill Kilmer Halfback 1958-60 1999Donn Moomaw Linebacker/center 1950-52 1973Jerry Robinson Linebacker 1975-78 1996Al Sparlis Guard 1941-42, 1945 1983Kenny Washington*** Halfback 1937-39 1956 *Aikman had a prolific day against USC in 1988, completing 32 of 48 passes for 317 yards and two touchdowns with one interception. But it wasn't enough as the Trojans held on for a 31-22 victory.

**Playing with torn rib cartilage in his last crosstown rivalry game, Beban passed for more than 300 yards and two touchdowns against USC in 1967. Although the Trojans pulled out a 21-20 victory, Beban went on that season to become the only UCLA player to win the Heisman Trophy.

***Washington passed for two touchdowns and nearly scored a game-winning touchdown against USC in 1937, but the play was nullified by a penalty. The Trojans won, 19-13.

-- Ben Bolch

Los Angeles Times Articles