Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

Denise Austin gets you in shape for summer

April 15, 2011|By Jeannine Stein, Los Angeles Times
  • Get in bathing suit shape in time for summer with tips from Denise Austin
Get in bathing suit shape in time for summer with tips from Denise Austin (Photo credit: David Vance )

Get in shape for summer with fitness author, exercise video host and television personality Denise Austin in a live Web chat on Monday at 11 a.m. Pacific time (1 p.m. Central, 2 p.m. Eastern). Learn how to trim your abs, thighs and hips and firm up your arms in time for beach and pool season.

With Memorial Day just a few weeks away, we caught up with Austin and asked her what exercises can be done in 10 minutes.

"You want to make the workout as effective as possible and think about quality over quantity," she says. "Interval training would be the best way—short bursts of cardio moves that you can do for 30 seconds, such as squat jumps, split lunges, running in place with knees up and burpees [from a standing position drop to a squat with hands on the ground, kick the legs back, return to a squat, jump in the air]. Alternate that with one minute of easier movements such as marching in place. Keep up that cycle for 10 minutes.

"This is a cardio blast with compound moves that work all the major muscle groups at the same time. You can also do fast walking while pumping your arms for eight minutes, then do two minutes of abs and upper body exercises such as one minute of sit-ups and one minute of push-ups."

Do you have a question for Denise? Email me at jeannine.stein@latimes.com, then join the chat to see your question answered!

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|