YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

European Basketball Championship at a glance

Twenty-four teams will compete in Lithuania for the championship over 19 days, starting Wednesday. More than a dozen NBA players are participating.

August 30, 2011|By Ben Bolch


When: Wednesday through Sept. 18

Where: Lithuania.

TV: ESPN2 will televise the championship game Sept. 18.

At Stake: Twenty-four teams are entered. The two teams that play for the championship are guaranteed berths in the 2012 Summer Olympics. Teams that finish third through sixth earn spots in another qualifying tournament.

Defending champion (2009): Spain.

Top NBA players: Germany: Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas) and Chris Kaman (Clippers); Spain: Pau Gasol (Lakers), Marc Gasol (Memphis), Serge Ibaka (Oklahoma City), Rudy Fernandez (Dallas) and Ricky Rubio (Minnesota); Italy: Andrea Bargnani (Toronto), Marco Belinelli (New Orleans) and Danilo Gallinari (Denver); Great Britain: Luol Deng (Chicago); Russia: Andrei Kirilenko (Utah); France: Tony Parker (San Antonio) and Joakim Noah (Chicago).

Group breakdowns: Group A: Great Britain, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Spain and Turkey; Group B: France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Latvia and Serbia; Group C: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Finland, Greece, Macedonia and Montenegro; Group D: Belgium, Bulgaria, Georgia, Russia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

Road to the championship: Three teams from each group advance to the knockout stage.

Los Angeles Times Articles