Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsBmi

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

Worried about your child's weight? Tap these experts during a Web chat Wednesday

February 01, 2011|By Mary Forgione, Tribune Health
(Orlando Sentinel )

Childhood obesity in America is on the rise, but kids don't seem to be getting the message. Parents can pick up advice and tips from these experts who run a wellness program that focuses on children's health.

The guests on a live Web chat Wednesday (1 p.m. EST, noon CST, 10 a.m. PST) will be pediatrician Dr. Angela Fals along with a Healthy 100 Kids team that includes a registered dietitian, an exercise physiologist and a psychologist.

Before the chat, check out whether your child has a weight problem. The gold standard for assessment is calculating a BMI or body mass index. This Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Web page explains how to do the math and what BMI percentiles are considered healthy.

Then come back and join the chat for suggestions on how to help kids establish healthy habits.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|