Advertisement
 

If you think your child has an eating disorder, join this Web chat Tuesday to learn more

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

January 03, 2011|By Mary Forgione, Tribune Health
(Martin Gunsaullus / For…)

Eating disorders are increasing among children, particularly those younger than 12. And the answer isn’t to tell kids to start (or stop) eating. Disorders like anorexia and bulimia signal serious behavior problems. Here's an expert who can help explain why.

Dr. David S. Rosen, professor of adolescent medicine at the University of Michigan Health System, will be the guest at a live Web chat Tuesday (1 p.m. Eastern, noon Central, 10 a.m. Pacific) to discuss eating disorders with Chicago Tribune health reporter Deborah Shelton.

Anorexia affects about 1% of preteen and teenage girls and bulimia about 2% to 5%. This Booster Shots item cites a study that says those numbers may be higher.

These disorders can be killers -- and good firsthand information is hard to come by. Join the chat to learn more.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|