Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsWeb Chat

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

Where does it hurt? Expert takes questions on cancer pain at Web chat Wednesday

January 11, 2011|By Mary Forgione, Tribune Health
(Los Angeles Times )

Treating pain from cancer is as important as treating the disease. But not all doctors are clued into the best palliative care. Here's a pain doctor who can offer expert advice.

Join a live Web chat Wednesday (noon EST, 11 a.m. CST and 9 a.m. PST) with Dr. Paul Christo, an anesthesiologist and pain medicine specialist at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He will lead an online Q&A session on cancer-related pain and how to treat it.

The American Cancer Assn. says this about cancer pain: "Pain is best relieved when treated early. You may hear some people refer to this as "staying on top of the pain." Do not try to hold off as long as possible between doses. Pain may get worse if you wait. Then it may take longer, or you may need larger doses, for your medicine to give you relief." Read more here.

Then bring any questions and concerns you might have to the Web chat.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|