Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsWeb Chat

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

When college freshmen get the winter blues -- this Web chat Thursday can help

January 12, 2011|By Mary Forgione, Tribune Health

In January, wintertime blues can set in at college campuses -- and not just those in snowy climes. After being home for the holidays, freshmen in particular get the blahs and start to feel "maybe school isn’t for me." These experts are familiar with the refrain and know how to respond.

An online Web chat Thursday (noon EST, 11 a.m. CST, 9 a.m. PST) will feature these faculty members from Fairfield University in Connecticut: Susan Birge, director of counseling and psychological services, and Robert Wething, a marriage and family therapist. Birge and Wething have advice for parents and students on how to get through the winter doldrums.

Come to the chat to learn how to survive (or help students survive) the wintertime blues — which typically vanish in spring.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|