Advertisement
 
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsWeb Chat

Join this Web chat Tuesday before you do that detox treatment

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

January 24, 2011|By Mary Forgione, Tribune Health

Detoxing treatments often carry a lot of health-related hype but little scientific capital to back up the claims. Here's an expert who can help sort out fact from fad.

Chicago Tribune health reporter Trine Tsouderos speaks with Dr. Stephen Barrett during a live Web chat Tuesday (1 p.m. EST, noon CST and 10 a.m. PST) about all kinds of detoxification claims. Chelation, for example, promises to rid the body of heavy metals, but how successful is it? Not very, says this Tribune story.

Come to the chat to find out from the doctor whether to be skeptical  of some treatments -- and how to play it safe.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|