Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsWeb Chat

BOOSTER SHOTS: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

Kristi Yamaguchi's advice for getting in shape: Set reasonable goals

May 06, 2011|By Jeannine Stein, Los Angeles Times / For the Booster Shots blog
  • She didn't win the gold medal by slacking off. Get great fitness tips and advice from Kristi Yamaguchi during a live web chat
She didn't win the gold medal by slacking off. Get great fitness tips… (Photo credit: Blake Little )

The Olympics may be behind her, but gold medal-winning figure skater Kristi Yamaguchi is still all about being healthy and fit. Join a live Web chat with Yamaguchi on Monday at 11 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. CDT, 2 p.m. EDT) when she'll be talking about her new fitness DVD, "Kristi Yamaguchi: Power Workout," as well as offering tips on getting and staying in shape. We asked the skater and winner of the sixth season of "Dancing With the Stars" what motivational tips she'd like to pass on to others.

"I always try to start out with some type of goal," she said, "whether it's to learn a new jump when I competed, or these days just to do some type of activity three to four times a week. Then I work backward and think of what I need to do to get there, and give myself smaller goals that are more immediate. For example, I'd practice the new jump 20 to 30 times a session, or organize my schedule to fit in the workouts.

"Even if it's only 30 minutes," she added, "it's better than nothing. When I do make time to exercise, working out to motivating music always helps -- whatever gives you a bounce in your feet. When you don't feel like working out, think about your desired end result and hopefully that motivates you."

Do you have a question for Kristi Yamaguchi? Email jeannine.stein@latimes.com and join the chat on Monday to see the answer.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|