Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsWeb Chat

Booster Shots: Oddities, musings and news from the
health world

Unique massage therapy may help people with fibromyalgia, book author says.

May 23, 2011|By Shari Roan, Los Angeles Times / For the Booster Shots blog
  • Dr. Ginevra Liptan
Dr. Ginevra Liptan (Ginevra Liptan )

People with fibromyalgia suffer from chronic pain throughout the body, especially in their joints, muscles and tendons. But research shows that exercise can make patients feel better and improve their quality of life.

Dr. Ginevra Liptan, an authority on the disorder at the Oregon Health Sciences Center, has conducted research on how a type of massage therapy of the fascia tissue -- the connective tissue surrounding muscles -- can help relieve discomfort.

To find out more about the therapy and how exercise and fibromyalgia are linked, join a live Web chat Monday at 11 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. CDT, 2 p.m. EDT) with Dr. Liptan.
 
We asked Dr. Liptan how someone with fibromyalgia should expect to feel during and after exercise.

"If someone with fibromyalgia does a proper warm-up,  keeps exercise of low to moderate intensity, and builds up slowly, they can expect to feel better after exercise," she said. "On the other hand, high intensity exercise with no warm-up can  be  painful and lead to feeling 'wiped out' for several days."

Do you have a question for Dr. Liptan? Email shari.roan@latimes.com and join the chat at Latimes.com/health to see the answer.
 

Return to Booster Shots blog.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|