YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

U.S. men's water polo team roster is announced

Four-time Olympians Tony Azevedo and Ryan Bailey head Coach Terry Schroeder's squad that will compete in the London Games this summer.

June 05, 2012|By Kevin Baxter
  • American Ryan Bailey reacts after scoring a goal against Serbia during the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.
American Ryan Bailey reacts after scoring a goal against Serbia during… (Scott Strazzante / Chicago…)

Terry Schroeder, coach of the U.S. men's water polo team, announced Wednesday the 14-man roster he says he'll take to the Olympic Games in London this summer. One problem, though — Olympic water polo teams are limited to 13 players.

Because of an injury to center JW Krumpholz, who suffered a concussion during pregame warmups at the FINA World League Prelims, Schroeder chose to keep an extra player on the U.S. team for next week's FINA World League Super Final in Kazakhstan. The U.S. must submit a 13-man Olympic roster by June 18 but the team can take an alternate to London.

However it stacks up, Schroeder will have a veteran group, which includes four-time Olympians Tony Azevedo and Ryan Bailey and four other players who will be competing in their third Games. All 14 players selected Wednesday are from California, including 12 from Southern California.

The U.S., which beat defending Olympic champion Hungary last week for the first time, finished with a silver in the Beijing Games four years ago, the team's first men's water polo medal in two decades.

The roster:

Attackers: Tony Azevedo (Long Beach); Shea Buckner (Villa Park); Peter Varellas (Moraga); Adam Wright (Seal Beach).

Center: Ryan Bailey (Long Beach); JW Krumpholz (Santa Ana); John Mann (Newport Beach).

Defenders: Layne Beaubien (Coronado); Peter Hudnut (Encino); Tim Hutten (Seal Beach); Jeff Powers (San Luis Obispo).

Utility: Jesse Smith (Coronado).

Goalkeepers: Chay Lapin ( Long Beach); Merrill Moses (Palos Verdes).

Los Angeles Times Articles