YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

WGA West announces 2012 board election candidates

June 21, 2012|By Richard Verrier
  • WGA West logo.
WGA West logo. (WGA West )

Chip Johannessen, co-executive producer of the TV series "Homeland Security," is among 17 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the Writers Guild of America, West's board of directors.

The guild board's nominating committee on Thursday announced its initial list of candidates for the election, which will be held in September.

In addition to Johannessen, the candidates are: Meg LeFauve, Marjorie David, Patrick Sean Smith, Terrence Coli, John Aboud, Eric Small, Jordan Mechner, Zoanne Clack, Barbara Turner, Michael Oates Palmer, Scott Alexander and Alexander Cary.  Also running are current board members David A. Goodman, Katherine Fugate, Kathy Kiernan and David Shore.

WGAW board members John Brancato ("Terminator Salvation"), Mark Gunn ("Journey 2: The Mysterious Island") and Robin Schiff, executive producer of the TV series "Are You There, Chelsea?" are not seeking re-election.

In addition to candidates selected by the board's nominating committee, eligible guild members may be nominated by petition if they obtain the signatures of at least 25 members.

Members may vote by mail or in person at the WGAW’s annual membership meeting on Sept. 20. Ballots are to be counted on Sept. 21.

Members are to get an opportunity to meet the candidates at the annual "Candidates Night" town hall forum, to be held Sept. 5 at the guild's headquarters in Los Angeles.

The guild represents about 12,000 writers who work on movies, television shows, commercials and news programs and documentaries.


Bid to lead writers guild casts spotlight on Chris Keyser

Writers Guild of America, West elects Chris Keyser as president

Writers Guild restores screenplay credit to Trumbo for "Roman Holiday"  

Los Angeles Times Articles