YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Four noted cinematographers to be honored at the ASC Awards

November 02, 2012|By Susan King
  • Dean Semler, right, on the set of "Apocalypto" with director Mel Gibson, is set to receive an ASC honor.
Dean Semler, right, on the set of "Apocalypto" with director… (Icon Distribution Inc.…)

The American Society of Cinematographers announced Friday morning that Dean Semler, Rodney Charters, Robby Muller and Curtis Clark will be honored during the 27th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards on Feb. 10 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.

Semler, who has made nearly 70 features and won an Oscar for the 1990 film "Dances With Wolves," will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Charters, who began his career on documentaries and has worked on such TV series as "24," "Nash Bridges" and now "Nashville," is set to receive the Career Achievement in Television honor.

Muller, who began his collaboration with director Wim Wenders in 1969 and has shot such films asĀ  "Down By Law" and "Mystery Train," will be presented with the International Achievement Award. And Clark, who was cinematographer on such films as "Dominick and Eugene" and "Triumph of the Spirit," is the recipient of the President's Award.


'Bernie,' 'Moonrise Kingdom' receive Gotham Awards boost

The longest day: Critics Choice Awards same date as Oscar noms

Los Angeles Times Articles