YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

J.J. Abrams to receive PGA's Norman Lear Award

November 05, 2012|By Susan King | This post has been corrected. See note at bottom.
  • J.J. Abrams will receive the Producers Guild of America's Norman Lear Award.
J.J. Abrams will receive the Producers Guild of America's Norman… (Paramount Pictures )

Writer, producer and director J.J. Abrams ("Felicity," "Lost," "Alias")  will receive the 2012 Norman Lear Achievement in Television Award at the annual Producers Guild of America Awards on Jan. 26 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

"J.J. Abrams has produced some of the most iconic and highest-rated television shows of the past decade and longer-series that have changed the landscape of television," said PGA Awards chair Michael DeLuca in a statement Monday.

Abrams, who has directed such films as "Star Trek," "Super 8" and the upcoming sequel to "Star Trek,"  is currently executive producer of CBS' "Person of Interest," Fox's "Fringe" and the new NBC series "Revolution."

Previous recipients of the honor, named after the visionary producer of such TV series as "All in the Family," include Tom Hanks, Don Mischer and Jerry Bruckheimer.

[Correct at 10:48 p.m.: An earlier version of this post said Michael DeLuca is chair of the PGA.]


Norman Lear recalls 'All in the Family's' beginnings

J.J. Abrams: Movie budgets are "preposterous"


Oscar Race: Who's in the lead?

TIMELINE: Academy Awards through the years

Movie Reviews

The Envelope: Awards Insider

Los Angeles Times Articles