YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

'Wheel of Fortune' and 'Jeopardy' get renewed through 2016

October 30, 2012|By Patrick Kevin Day

TV shows may come and go, but "Wheel of Fortune" and "Jeopardy" just keep on trucking. The two long-lived game shows, which are the No. 1 and 2-rated syndicated game shows on the air, were both picked up through the 2015-2016 season by ABC Owned Television Stations Group.

That renewal would put the syndicated versions of "Wheel" on the air for 33 seasons and "Jeopardy" for 32. The ABC Owned Television Stations Group represents TV stations covering 21% of U.S. households.

In addition to the shows getting renewed, hosts Pat Sajak and Vanna White will continue with "Wheel" and Alex Trebek will continue on "Jeopardy." Trebek has been discussing retirement this year, telling Fox News' Chris Wallace in May that he was thinking of retiring after 30 years. Trebek's heart attack in June was another sign that perhaps the dapper host would finally be stepping down. But with his contract renewal, Trebek will be back for at least three more years.

In addition to both shows' continued ratings successes, they continue to win awards. "Wheel" picked up the Emmy for outstanding game/audience participation show in 2011 and "Jeopardy" won a Peabody Award in 2011 and the Emmy for outstanding game/audience participation show in 2012. It has also been included in the "Guinness Book of World Records" for being the TV game show to win the most awards.


Norman Lear recalls 'All in the Family's' beginning

Super storm Sandy is no match for Letterman and Fallon

ABC gives full-season orders to 'Scandal,' 'The Neighbors'

Join Patrick Kevin Day on Google+ or Twitter. Email:


Emmys 2012

Timeline: Emmy winners through the years

Celebrity meltdowns

VIDEO: Watch the latest fall TV trailers here

Los Angeles Times Articles