YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Trey Burke, Jim Larranaga are AP college basketball player, coach of year

April 04, 2013|By Dan Loumena
  • Michigan point guard Trey Burke drives around Virginia Commonweath guard Briante Weber during an NCAA tournament game.
Michigan point guard Trey Burke drives around Virginia Commonweath guard… (Jonathan Daniel / Getty…)

Michigan point guard Trey Burke, who helped the Wolverines reach the Final Four for the first time since 1993, and Miami's Jim Larranaga have been selected the Associated Press' player and coach of the year.

Burke garnered 31 of 65 votes from the same media panel that selects the weekly top 25. He is the first Michigan player since Cazzie Russell in 1966 to win player of the year.

The 6-foot sophomore averaged 19.2 points, 6.7 assists and 3.1 rebounds while often playing with four freshmen. Burke made an impressive 40.1% of his shots from three-point range.

Georgetown's 6-8 foward Otto Porter Jr. was second with 16 votes and Indiana's 6-5 guard Victor Oladipo was third with 10.

Larranaga led Miami (29-7) to the Atlantic Coast Conference regular-season and tournament titles. He received 29 votes. Jim Crews of Saint Louis was second with 19 votes and Mark Few of Gonzaga was next with 11.

Voting for the awards ended on the NCAA tournament Selection Sunday.


Oscar Pistorius is spotted on the track in South Africa

Aly Raisman discusses Week 3 of 'Dancing With the Stars'

Lance Armstrong pulls out of swimming event after FINA objects

Los Angeles Times Articles