YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Bill Parcells, six others elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

February 02, 2013|By Dan Loumena
  • Defensive tackle Warren Sapp (99) and offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden (75) head the 2013 Hall of Fame class.
Defensive tackle Warren Sapp (99) and offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden… (Associated Press )

Former coach Bill Parcells, defensive tackle Warren Sapp, offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden and four others were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Sapp, who played with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Oakland Raiders, and Odgen, an All-American from UCLA who played with the Baltimore Ravens, each were selected in their first year of eligibility.

Parcells led the New York Giants to two Super Bowl victories.

Joining them in the Class of 2013 will be offensive guard Larry Allen of the Dallas Cowboys, defensive tackle Curley Culp of the Kansas City Chiefs, receiver Cris Carter of the Minnesota Vikings and linebacker Dave Robinson of the Green Bay Packers.

There were 17 nominees this year. Those not receiving enough votes were running back Jerome Bettis, receiver Tim Brown, former San Francisco 49ers owner Ed DeBartolo Jr., defensive end Kevin Greene, defensive end Charles Haley, former owner Art Modell, receiver Andre Reed, offensive guard Will Shields, defensive end Michael Strahan and defensive back Aeneas Williams.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony be Aug. 3 at Canton, Ohio.


Phil Mickelson continues to dominate at the Phoenix Open

49ers' Chris Culliver to get sensitivity training after anti-gay remarks

Clippers' Jamal Crawford has broken nose; game-time decision Sunday

Los Angeles Times Articles