YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

'Argo,' 'Silver Linings' win American Cinema Editors Award

February 16, 2013|By Susan King
  • John Goodman, left, Alan Arkin and Ben Affleck star in "Argo," which won the American Cinema Editors award Saturday evening
John Goodman, left, Alan Arkin and Ben Affleck star in "Argo,"… (Claire Folger )

 William Goldenberg won the American Cinema Editors 63rd ACE Eddie Award for best edited dramatic feature film Saturday evening for the Oscar frontrunner "Argo."

Ben Affleck's drama about the rescue of six Americans hiding in Tehran during the Iranian Revolution has already won the Golden Globe, the BAFTA, the Screen Actors Guild Award, the Producers Guild Award, the Directors Guild of America Award and the Scripter Award.

Meanwhile, Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers won best edited comedy/musical feature film for the quirky romantic comedy "Silver Linings Playbook," which is up for eight Academy Awards.

OSCARS 2013: Defining scenes | Oscar Watch | Play-at-Home Ballot | Snubs & surprises | Reactions | Trivia | Timeline

Nicholas C. Smith & Robert Grahamjones earned the Eddie for best edited animated feature film for "Brave" and Malik Bendjelloul took home the editing honor for documentary feature.

On the television side, Pamela Scott Arnold won for documentary for "American Masters--Phil Ochs: There But for Fortune."

Gary Levy received the Eddie for half-hour series for the "Handle Your Scandal" episode of "Nurse Jackie," and Skip MacDonald won for one-hour series for commercial television for the "Dead Freight" installment of "Breaking Bad."

Anne McCabe won for one-hour series for non-commercial television for the pilot episode of "The Newsroom" and Walter Murch won for miniseries or motion picture for television for "Hemingway & Gelhorn."

Andy Netley & Sharon Gillooly won the non-scripted series category for "Frozen Planet: Ends of the Earth."  The student competition Eddie went to Michael Smith from AFI.

Three special awards were also handed out during the ceremony Saturday evening at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Steven Spielberg received the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honor, and Richard Marks and Larry Silk were the recipients of the 2013 Career Achievement Award.


'Argo,' 'Lincoln' spare no expense in Oscar best picture race

On Location: Busy 'Argo' editor turns footage into breathless action

L.A. Film Festival: A musical mystery in 'Searching for Sugar Man'


Red carpet moments

PHOTOS: Memorable red carpet moments

VIDEO: Go behind the scenes with the awards contenders

Envelope Awards insider

THE ENVELOPE: Awards insider


Los Angeles Times Articles