YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Michael Strahan, Warren Sapp among NFL's Hall of Fame finalists

January 11, 2013|By Houston Mitchell
  • Warren Sapp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2003.
Warren Sapp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2003. (Steve Nesius / Associated…)

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its modern-era nominees on Friday, a group of 15 that includes first-year candidates Michael Strahan, Warren Sapp, Larry Allen and Jonathan Ogden.

Three wide receivers are once again among the finalists -- Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Andre Reed. Also in the group are former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr., former Browns/Ravens owner Art Modell and former Super Bowl-winning coach Bill Parcells.

Of the final 15, at least four and no more than seven will be chosen for the Hall by the 46-member selection committee. Results are to be announced on Feb. 2, the day before the Super Bowl.

A look at this year's modern-era nominees:

--Larry Allen, guard/tackle: 1994-2005, Dallas Cowboys; 2006-07, San Francisco 49ers.

--Jerome Bettis, running back: 1993-95, Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams; 1996-2005, Pittsburgh Steelers

--Tim Brown, wide receiver/kick returner/punt returner: 1988-2003, Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders; 2004, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

--Cris Carter, wide receiver: 1987-89, Philadelphia Eagles; 1990-2001, Minnesota Vikings; 2002, Miami Dolphins

--Edward DeBartolo, Jr., owner: 1977-2000, San Francisco 49ers

--Kevin Greene, linebacker/defensive end: 1985-1992, Los Angeles Rams; 1993-95, Pittsburgh Steelers; 1996, 1998-99, Carolina Panthers; 1997, San Francisco 49ers

--Charles Haley, defensive end/linebacker: 1986-1991, 1999, San Francisco 49ers; 1992-96, Dallas Cowboys

--Art Modell, owner: 1961-1995, Cleveland Browns; 1996-2011, Baltimore Ravens

--Jonathan Ogden, tackle: 1996-2007, Baltimore Ravens

--Bill Parcells, coach: 1983-1990, New York Giants; 1993-96, New England Patriots; 1997-99, New York Jets; 2003-06, Dallas Cowboys

--Andre Reed, wide receiver: 1985-1999, Buffalo Bills; 2000, Washington Redskins

--Warren Sapp, defensive tackle: 1995-2003, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; 2004-07, Oakland Raiders

--Will Shields, guard: 1993-2006, Kansas City Chiefs

--Michael Strahan, defensive end: 1993-2007, New York Giants

--Aeneas Williams, cornerback/safety: 1991-2000, Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals; 2001-04 St. Louis Rams.


Tim Tebow won't play for Jaguars next season

Poll: Who will win this weekend's NFL playoff games?

Rob Chudzinski is hired to coach the Cleveland Browns

Los Angeles Times Articles