Advertisement
 

What time are the 2013 Screen Actors Guild Awards?

SAG
Awards 2013

January 26, 2013|By Nardine Saad

The on-screen talent of television and film will turn out for the 19th Screen Actors Guild Awards on Sunday at the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles.

For those watching from home, the red carpet begins at 3 p.m. Pacific (6 p.m. Eastern) and the main event will air on TBS and TNT at 5 p.m. Pacific (8 p.m. Eastern). Film and TV stunt ensemble performers will be honored at 3:15 p.m. Pacific (6:15 p.m. Eastern) during the red carpet pre-show webcast on tntdrama.com and tbs.com.

There are more than 165,000 members in the recently merged SAG-AFTRA union, but only 2,100 voters get to choose the nominees, who are recognized for their speaking and stunt roles in television and film. At least 100,000 members of the union, those who are current on their dues, will vote for the winners.

PHOTOS: 2013 SAG Award nominees

Leading the pack this year are three films: Tom Hooper's France-set musical "Les Miserables," Steven Spielberg's Civil War political drama "Lincoln" and David O'Russell's quirky romantic dramedy "Silver Linings Playbook." Performers from each film collected four nominations. Ben Affleck's CIA thriller "Argo" and Sam Mendes' James Bond film "Skyfall" collected two nominations, as did "The Sessions" and "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel." Kathryn Bigelow's controversial Osama bin Laden film "Zero Dark Thirty" received only one nomination: lead actress for Jessica Chastain, who took home the Golden Globe honor for actress earlier this month

"Les Miserables" and "Argo" were the big winners at the Golden Globe Awards and have set the bar for the Academy Awards, which will take place Feb. 27. However, unlike other awards shows, the SAG Awards recognize best ensemble casts in lieu of a best picture and best TV series categories.

On the TV drama side, cable favorites such as "Homeland," "Mad Men," "Breaking Bad" and "Boardwalk Empire" picked up multiple nominations, while network series were all but overlooked. And in comedy, the situation was reversed: Only one cable series, "Nurse Jackie," made the cut in the ensemble category, with SAG favoring network sitcoms like "30 Rock," "Modern Family" and "The Big Bang Theory."

Classic TV funnyman Dick Van Dyke is set to receive the Life Achievement Award from SAG-AFTRA this year for his illustrious career as well as his humanitarian work. Mary Tyler Moore, who starred alongside Van Dyke many a time, was last year's recipient.

ALSO:

PHOTOS: Nomination snubs and surprises

'Lincoln,' 'Argo' nods add clarity for Oscars

TV nominations favor cable dramas, network comedies

Follow Nardine on Twitter @NardineSaad and Google +.

MORE SAG AWARDS COVERAGE

SAG Award nominees

LIST: Complete list of 2013 nominees

VIDEO: Highlights from the Envelope Screening Series

Envelope Awards insider

THE ENVELOPE: Awards insider

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|