YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

National title game at Rose Bowl caps 35-game bowl schedule

May 22, 2013|By Chris Dufresne
  • The Rose Bowl will host its 100th namesake event on Jan. 1, then the final BCS championship game five days later.
The Rose Bowl will host its 100th namesake event on Jan. 1, then the final… (Harry How / Getty Images )

The new college football bowl schedule is out!

OK, it's not as exciting as Steve Martin in "The Jerk" rejoicing the arrival of the new phone book, but it can help you make travel plans for this year's holiday season.

The Football Bowl Assn. on Wednesday officially released the times and dates of the 35-game lineup. Bowl season kicks off Dec. 21 with the Gildan New Mexico Bowl and ends with the BCS title game on Jan. 6 at the Rose Bowl.

This is the 16th, and last, season of the BCS in advance of the new College Football Playoff Series coming in 2014. The Rose Bowl will host its traditional event on Jan. 1, the 100th-anniversary game celebration, and then the final BCS title game five days later.

ESPN's family of networks will broadcast 33 of the 35 games. The only non-ESPN bowls are the Sun (Dec. 31, CBS) and Cotton (Jan. 3, Fox).


Clippers consider Nate McMillan to fill coaching vacancy

Mike Trout hits for the cycle in Angels' 12-0 victory over Seattle

Tiger Woods calls Sergio Garcia's fried chicken comment 'hurtful'

Los Angeles Times Articles