YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Turkey Night Grand Prix USAC auto race set for Perris track

November 21, 2013|By Jim Peltz
  • Defending Turkey Night Grand Prix champion Kyle Larson, who competed in the NASCAR Nationwide Series this past season, will be racing in Perris on Thanksgiving Night.
Defending Turkey Night Grand Prix champion Kyle Larson, who competed in… (Tom Pennington / Getty Images )

The 73rd running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix for U.S. Auto Club midget cars, a Thanksgiving-night tradition in Southern California, is set for Nov. 28 at Perris Auto Speedway in Riverside County.

Midget cars are powerful, open-wheel race cars. Many notable drivers from other series have driven in the holiday race during its long history, including A.J. Foyt, Parnelli Jones and NASCAR's Tony Stewart and Kasey Kahne.

Last year's winner was Kyle Larson, who this year competed in NASCAR's second-level Nationwide Series and is scheduled to join its premier Sprint Cup series next year.

Notable drivers scheduled to race in the Turkey Night Grand Prix this year include two-time Turkey Night winner Bryan Clauson, Cory Kruseman and Damion Gardner.

Gates at the half-mile Perris dirt track open at 2 p.m. on Thanksgiving Day, qualifying starts at 6 p.m. and the race is scheduled to start at 8:45 p.m.


Baseball, softball could return to Olympics by 2020

Lindsey Vonn suffered partial ACL tear of surgically repaired knee

A-Rod storms out of own grievance hearing, calls it "abusive process"

Los Angeles Times Articles