YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Annie Baker, Rajiv Joseph win drama award from Steinberg Trust

October 02, 2013|By David Ng
  • Playwright Rajiv Joseph in Los Angeles in 2010.
Playwright Rajiv Joseph in Los Angeles in 2010. (Genaro Molina / Los Angeles…)

Annie Baker and Rajiv Joseph have been named the winners of the 6th Annual Steinberg Playwright Award, an annual theater honor organized by the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust.

The awards, which will be handed out at a ceremony in New York on Nov. 18, are intended to recognize young and mid-career playwrights. The winners receive a monetary prize of $50,000 each. 

Baker, whose play "Circle Mirror Transformation" had its local debut at South Coast Repertory in 2011, presented her most recent play, "The Flick," at the off-Broadway Playwrights Horizons in March. "The Flick," a three-hour-long drama set in a movie theater, sharply divided audiences with its long silences and unconventional pacing.

CRITICS' PICKS: What to watch, where to go, what to eat

Joseph's "Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo" was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in 2010. The play was presented at the Kirk Douglas Theatre and the Mark Taper Forum in L.A. before running on Broadway with Robin Williams in 2011.

His most recent play is "The Lake Effect," which premiered in April at Chicago's Silk Road Rising.

Previous winners of the "Mimi" Awards include Bruce Norris, Lisa D'Amour and Melissa James Gibson.

The November ceremony also will recognize playwright David Henry Hwang, who last year was named the 2012 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award recipient. The award, which is given biannually, comes with a $200,000 monetary prize.


Rajiv Joseph's newest stripe

Playwright Annie Baker enjoys filling in the blanks

Rajiv Joseph on his Black List screenplay 'Draft Day'


PHOTOS: Hollywood stars on stage

CHEAT SHEET: Fall Arts Preview

PHOTOS: Arts and culture in pictures

Los Angeles Times Articles