YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Complete list of 2014 Golden Reel award winners

February 16, 2014|By Times staff writers

The Motion Picture Sound Editors presented the 61st MPSE Golden Reel Awards at the Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles. Golden Reel Awards recognizing outstanding achievement in sound editing were presented in 24 categories. The following is a complete list of winners:

Career Achievement Award
Randy Thom


Best Sound & Music Editing: Television Animation
"Fairly Odd Parents" — "Dumbbell Curve" (Nickelodeon)
Directed by: Randy Myers, Michelle Bryan
Produced by: Butch Hartman, George Goodchild

Supervising Sound Editor: Heather Olsen, MPSE
Sound Designer: Heather Olsen, MPSE
Supervising Foley Editor: Roy Braverman
Supervising Dialogue Editor: Robbi Smith, MPSE
Foley Artist: John Lampinen

Best Sound & Music Editing: Television Documentary Short Form
"North America: No Place To Hide" (Discovery Channel)
Produced by: Keith Scholey, Christine Weber

Supervising Sound Editors: Kate Hopkins, Tim Owens
Sound Effects Editor: Stephen Griffiths
Assistant Dialogue Editor: Owen Peters
Music Editor: Michael Baber

Best Sound & Music Editing: Television Documentary Long Form
"Deadliest Catch: The Final Battle" (Discovery)
Directed by: Jared Cook
Produced by: John Gray

Supervising Sound Editor: Bob Bronow, CAS
Sound Designer: Bob Bronow, CAS
Sound Effects Editors: Kevin Skaggs, Selina Zakaria
Dialogue/ADR Editor: Jason Tuttle
Dialogue Editors: Kevin Skaggs, Edward Rodriguez
Music Editor:  Doug Kern

Best Sound & Music Editing: Sound Effects, Foley, Dialogue & ADR In An Animation Feature Film
"Epic" (20th Century Fox)
Directed by: Chris Wedge
Produced by: Lori Forte, Jerry Davis

Supervising Sound Editors: Gwendolyn Yates Whittle, MPSE, Randy Thom
Sound Designers:  Randy Thom, Jeremy Bowker
Supervising Foley Editor: Luke Dunn Gielmuda Supervising Dialogue Editor: Brad Semenoff
Foley Artists: Denise Thorpe, Jana Vance
Foley Editors: Benny Burtt, Jim Likowski Dialogue Editor: Michael Silvers
Sound Effects Editors: Leff Lefferts, Andre Fenley, Kyrsten Mate, Kent Sparling
Music Editors: Lisa Jaime, Bill Abbott

Best Sound & Music Editing: Documentaries - Feature Film
"Dirty Wars" (IFC)
Directed by: Richard Rowley
Produced by: Anthony Arnove, Brenda Conklin

Supervising Sound Editor: Christopher Barnett
Sound Designers: Christopher Barnett, Brandon Proctor

Verna Fields Award In Sound Editing For Student Films & Presentation of Scholarship Award
Robomax (National Film And Television School)

Supervising Sound Editor: Tingli Lim
Sound Designer: Tingli Lim
Foley Artist: Ricky Butt
Music Editors: Sarah Warne, Tingli Lim


Best Sound & Music Editing: Computer Episodic Entertainment
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy Series II" — Ep. 4 (Warner Premiere)
Directed by: Kevin Tancharoen
Produced by: Kevin Tancharoen

Supervising Sound Editor: Michael Babcock
Sound Designers: Michael Babcock, Tim Gedemer
Supervising Foley Editor: Jeff Sawyer
Foley Artist: Gregg Barbanell
Sound Effects Editors: Ian Herzon, Bryan Jerden

Best Sound & Music Editing: Computer Interactive Entertainment
"Starcraft 2: Heart Of The Swarm Cinematic" (Blizzard Entertainment, Inc.)
Directed by: Jeff Chamberlain, Nicholas S. Carpenter
Produced by: Caroline Hernandez, MPSE, Phillip Hillenbrand

Supervising Sound Editor: Paul Menichini, MPSE
Sound Designers: Paul Menichini, MPSE, David Farmer, Stuart Provine
Supervising Foley Editor: Darrin Mann
Supervising ADR Editor: Andrea Toyias
Foley Artist: Gregg Barbanell, MPSE
Sound Effects Editor: Caroline Hernandez, MPSE
Sound Editors: Thomas C. Brewer, MPSE, John Kurlander
Dialogue/ADR Editors: Alexander Ephraim, Clinton D. Jones
Music Editor: Neal Acree

Best Sound & Music Editing: Direct To Video - Animation
"Batman: The Dark Knight Returns Pt. 2" (Warner Bros. Animation)
Directed by: Jay Oliva
Produced by: Bruce Timm, Sam Register
Supervising Sound Editor: Robert Hargreaves, MPSE
Sound Designer: Robert Hargreaves, MPSE
Supervising Dialogue Editor: Mark Keatts
Foley Artist: Gary Marullo
Sound Effects Editor: George Brooks
Dialogue Editors: Kelly Foley-Downs, Mike Garcia
Foley Editor: John Hegedes

Best Sound & Music Editing: Direct To Video - Live Action
"Marvel One-Shot: Agent Carter" (Walt Disney Studio)
Directed by: Louis D' Esposito
Produced by: Kevin Feige, Brad Baruh, Brad Winderbaum, Victoria Alonso, Mitch Bell

Supervising Sound Editor: Andrew DeCristofaro, MPSE
Sound Designers: Ann Scibelli, MPSE, Michael Payne, MPSE
Supervising Dialogue Editor: Laura Harris-Atkinson
Foley Artists: Gary A. Hecker, Gary Marullo

Best Sound & Music Editing: Special Venue
"To The Artic 3D" (Warner Brothers Studios)
Directed by: Greg MacGillivray
Produced by: Shaun MacGillivray, Christopher N. Palmer

Los Angeles Times Articles