YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Floyd Mayweather Jr. is selected American fighter of the year

January 28, 2014|By Lance Pugmire
  • Floyd Mayweather Jr. smiles during the official weigh-in on Sept. 13 before his bout with Saul "Canelo" Alvarez. Mayweather won by decision.
Floyd Mayweather Jr. smiles during the official weigh-in on Sept. 13 before… (Ethan Miller / Getty Images )

Floyd Mayweather Jr., who opened a lucrative Showtime pay-per-view deal with two fights in 2013, was announced Tuesday as the Boxing Writers’ Assn. of America fighter of the year.

Mayweather (45-0) dominated both of his bouts, first picking apart Robert Guerrero by unanimous decision in May before out-working the younger, more inexperienced Saul “Canelo” Alvarez in September.

"I have dedicated my whole career to being the best and because of that I have been on top for 17 years," Mayweather said in a statement. "Hard work and dedication got me there and awards like these help keep me there. ... I thank you so very much."

The fight against Alvarez was scored a majority decision, with judge C.J. Ross calling it a draw. Ross later resigned.

Mayweather-Alvarez became the most lucrative pay-per-view in history, generating a reported 2.2 million buys valued in excess of $150 million.

"It is a great honor to be voted by the BWAA as fighter of the year," Mayweather said in the statement. "To be recognized by this organization is special and I truly appreciate it.

"I also want to congratulate the other winners and also recognize my fellow nominees whose achievements in the ring this past year afforded them the nomination, too."

Mayweather, who also won fighter of the year after beating Oscar De La Hoya and Ricky Hatton in 2007, is expected to announce a May fight against England’s Amir Khan.

One of Mayweather’s top challengers for fighter of the year, Coachella Valley’s unbeaten Timothy Bradley, won the BWAA fight-of-the-year nod for his unanimous decision over Ruslan Provodnikov in March in Carson.

Bradley (31-0, 12 knockouts) was coming off a split-decision victory over Manny Pacquiao in June, 2012, and opted to engage in an all-out exchange with Provodnikov, who pounded Bradley.

Bradley was knocked down in the 12th round but hung on to send the bout to the judges, who awarded him a 115-112, 114-113, 114-113 victory. Provodnikov went on to batter Mike Alvarado.

"It is an honor to not only be nominated but to have won fight of the year,” Bradley said in a statement. “I thank all who voted for my fight with Ruslan, as well as Ruslan for being in the ring with me."

Freddie Roach, the trainer for Provodnikov and Pacquiao, was selected trainer of the year.

"It's good to be back,” Roach said in a statement. “We had one year off when it seemed like nothing was going our way. But last year it all came together again. ... I represent the collective efforts of the most talented and hardest-working fighters and assistant trainers in the world, and I thank them all from the bottom of my heart."

The BWAA honored Top Rank promotions publicist Lee Samuels and broadcaster Bob Sheridan for long and distinguished service, injured boxer Paul Williams for courage and boxing writer Dan Rafael with the Nat Fleisher Award honoring excellence in boxing journalism.

A ceremony honoring the winners will be announced in the near future.


Olympic officials vow to hunt down drug cheats

Report: Seahawks' Marshawn Lynch gets endorsement deal with Skittles

Dana White: Floyd Mayweather would 'get murdered in the UFC' [Video]

Los Angeles Times Articles