YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsAwards


December 23, 1988
The producers, writers and actor Larry Drake, creators of the character Benny on "L.A. Law," will receive Special Merit Awards on Jan. 22 at the Beverly Hilton when the 10th Media Access awards are presented for best portrayal of the disabled in film and broadcast media. Also honored will be author Sam Maddox, who compiled "Spinal Network," a resource book for people with spinal injuries. Along with the Merit Awards, the Governor's Award of Excellence will go to Bill Demby and the Du Pont Co.
September 21, 2007 | From a Times staff writer
Ellen Stewart, founder of New York's La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club, was among the five winners announced Thursday for the 2007 Praemium Imperiale arts awards for lifetime achievements. The other winners were Israeli conductor Daniel Barenboim, French artist Daniel Buren, British sculptor Tony Cragg and the Swiss architectural team of Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron. Given annually by the Japan Art Assn.
May 11, 1986
Twelve Santa Monica College students have been awarded Hilding A. Tenger awards for transferring students. Nedith Roberts received $2,000 and the following students received $1,000: Tracey Cooper, Patricia del Valle, Cynthia Dickinson, Joy Ferro, Malcolm Gaustad, Sherri Kimbell, Stephanie Louison, Nancy Nicholas, Toni Stone, Corinne Taplin and Candace Young. Santa Monica College student Peter Mollica has won the Ben Barnard teaching award of $1,000.
October 28, 1987
The 1987 U.S. Nobel laureates are the first that will have their awards taxed (Part I, Oct. 15). This action hardly squares with our professed interests in not only supporting education but dedication as well--not to mention the future benefits of the discoveries. This legislation should be repealed. TAD MYROSKOV West Hollywood
December 23, 1990 | LEONARD FEATHER, Leonard Feather is The Times' jazz critic.
For the 26th annum, the time has arrived to consider the hits and misses, the triumphs and trials of what well may have been the most active year in jazz history. The activity may not have been at a new peak qualitatively, but in terms of the number of people involved at every level--as professionals or students, musicians or critics--the year was surely without precedent. Many of the precedents were set in that prime focal point of jazz activity: Japan.
February 22, 2005 | From a Times staff writer
Go figure: Films starring Jim Carrey and Bill Murray walked off with honors at the seventh annual Costume Designers Guild Awards. Colleen Atwood, who dressed Carrey and company in "Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events," won for excellence in a fantasy/period film, while the award for contemporary film went to Milena Canonero for "The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou," starring Murray. Atwood is also nominated for an Oscar.
April 25, 1988
Wes Craven's "The Serpent and the Rainbow" won awards for Best Director and Best Screenplay at the Imagfic festival for science-fiction films held in Madrid, Spain last month. Inspired by the book by Wade Davis, the film explores the world of voodoo and zombies in pre-revolutionary Haiti and stars Bill Pullman, Cathy Tyson, Zakes Mokae and Paul Winfield.
June 6, 2010 | By Ellen Olivier, Special to the Los Angeles Times
Except for the cocktail dresses, the Women in Film Crystal + Lucy Awards had a distinctly relaxed quality. So much so that before the evening ended, host Debra Messing removed her shoes. "I had to do it," she declared from the podium, her red-heeled Louboutins dangling from one hand. On ascending the stage, Emily Blunt followed suit. True to the event name, this was "A New Era." Blunt presented the Crystal Award to Universal Pictures Co-Chairman Donna Langley; Laura Dern gave Courteney Cox the Lucy Award, named for industry icon Lucille Ball; and Nicola Maramotti of MaxMara honored Zoe Saldana as the "Face of the Future."
May 4, 2007 | From a Times staff writer
Still struggling to gain a foothold with authors and the public, the Quill Awards announced Thursday a new process for nominating and selecting its prizes for best books of the year. Created two years ago as a populist answer to the National Book Awards and Pulitzers, in which winners are selected by small committees, the Quills previously culled finalists from nominations by about 6,000 booksellers and librarians, then had the public vote to choose the winners in 19 categories.
March 15, 1990
The British group Soul II Soul, snubbed in last month's American Music Awards, were among the big winners Wednesday night at the fourth annual Soul Train Music Awards. The band, whose four nominations were the most of any act, was named the best rhythm-and-blues group and won the best R&B single award for "Keep On Movin'." The group received the most American Music Awards nominations but was shut out.
Los Angeles Times Articles