YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsBook Prizes

Book Prizes

September 21, 1989
Winners of the 1989 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were announced in New York today by Times Book Editor Jack Miles. The announcement was made at a private reception for publishers of all nominated books, held at the Regency Hotel. The winning authors will be honored at a cocktail reception and awards ceremony at The Times on Nov. 3. The 1989 winners: FICTION: The Heart of the Country by Fay Weldon (Viking Penguin).
October 11, 2007 | Josh Getlin, Times Staff Writer
Novelist Denis Johnson's "Tree of Smoke," a story drawn from the Vietnam War, was nominated Wednesday for the 2007 National Book Award in fiction, along with two first-time novelists and two short story writers. Essayist Christopher Hitchens was nominated in the nonfiction category for "God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything," as was Edwidge Danticat's memoir of the Haitian diaspora, "Brother, I'm Dying," and Tim Weiner's "Legacy of Ashes," about the history of the CIA.
July 24, 1989
Tom Johnson, publisher and chief executive officer of the Los Angeles Times, has announced that the newspaper will award a science and technology prize, beginning in fall, 1989, as part of its annual Book Prize program. The science and technology prize joins existing awards in fiction, poetry, history, biography and current interest, as well as the Robert Kirsch Award for a body of work by a writer living in or writing about the American West. The Times Book Prizes have been awarded since 1980.
The newest Los Angeles Times Book Prize winners take readers through a rich web of space, love and time. Take, for instance, Judith Thurman's sizzling biography of French author Colette, whose treatment of sex a century ago still draws a blush. Or the humanizing portrait by Dava Sobel of Galileo through the eyes of his oldest daughter, a nun. Times Book Review Editor Steve Wasserman called the two books "definitive." They are "not only instructive, but vastly entertaining," he said.
October 19, 2002 | TIM RUTTEN
Fame, said Jack Kerouac, "is like an old newspaper blowing down Bleeker Street." Winning a major literary prize, on the other hand, is something you can cite on a book jacket. That's why the pulses of publishers, editors, agents -- and authors less mordant than the bardic Beat -- quicken this time of year, as the award season slips into high gear. Last week, the Swedish Academy named Hungary's Imre Kertesz as the 2002 Nobel laureate in literature.
April 17, 2005
Since 1980, the annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes have honored literary achievement. The Times presents the awards and sponsors the annual Festival of Books (launched in 1996) as part of a continuing commitment to celebrate the written word. Kenneth Turan, Times film critic and a former books editor for the paper, has directed the Book Prize program since 1995.
March 29, 2007 | From Bloomberg News
John Grisham, the bestselling author of legal thrillers including "The Pelican Brief," won his first major U.K. literary honor, capturing a lifetime achievement prize Wednesday at the Galaxy British Book Awards. Other authors feted during a lavish televised dinner held in London's Grosvenor House Hotel included Richard Dawkins, the scientist-academic who railed against religion in "The God Delusion," and comedian Ricky Gervais, star and co-creator of the British television series "The Office."
November 21, 2002 | From Reuters
Robert Caro on Wednesday won the National Book Award for "Master of the Senate: The Years of Lyndon Johnson," his third book on the life of the late president. Caro, who is working on a fourth and his intended last book on Johnson, said in a statement read at the National Book Foundation award ceremony here that people often ask if he gets bored spending so much time on one person. "I consider each of my four books studies on political power, how it is acquired and how it is used," he said.
October 30, 2002 | From Associated Press
Novelist Rohinton Mistry and memoir writer Pascal Khoo Thwe are the winners of the seventh annual Kiriyama Prize, given for books "that promote greater understanding of and among the nations of the Pacific Rim ... and of the South Asian subcontinent." Mistry, a native of India now living in Canada, was cited Tuesday for "Family Matters," a novel set in Bombay and featuring an ailing patriarch whose children debate how to care for him.
November 9, 1986
The winners of the 1986 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes converge--in effect, if not by design--on the distinctly contemporary theme of oppression. Geoffrey Hosking concludes his history of the Soviet Union with praise for the Soviet peoples' "remarkable capacity for . . . arranging their lives so as to steer round and even passively resist the oppressive regime which rules them."
Los Angeles Times Articles