June 18, 1988 |
A state appeal court in Sacramento unanimously struck down a "sub-minimum" wage scheduled to go into effect July 1 for employees who receive tips. The decision could affect as many as 500,000 California workers. The new category of wage earners was created last Dec. 18 by a 3-2 vote of the state Industrial Welfare Commission, which raised the minimum wage in California from $3.35 to $4.25 for most workers but set a $3.
January 13, 1988 |
Angry waitresses, along with two Los Angeles-area legislators and several community groups, complained Tuesday that the state's proposed new minimum wage of $4.25 an hour is too little, too late. One of the complaints is that the minimum wage increase from $3.35 an hour to $4.25 does not take effect until July 1. Another is that the state Industrial Welfare Commission, in approving the increase, created a two-tiered wage system.
December 8, 1987 |
California's farm labor law, which once offered the promise of helping California farm workers out of poverty, has been dying a slow death since Gov. George Deukmejian took office in 1983. Latest data from the Agricultural Labor Relations Board that administers the law shows, as one board member said, "an incredible shrinkage in the amount of work we have to do."
December 4, 1987 |
Lt. Gov. Leo McCarthy announced Thursday that the state Economic Development Commission, which he heads, recommends increasing the state minimum wage from $3.35 an hour to $5.01. If adopted, a $5.01 minimum wage would be the highest in the nation, with Alaska's $3.85 the second highest. McCarthy said the state commission believes a $5.01 minimum wage would not hurt California businesses and would stimulate consumer spending. However, the recommendation may have little chance of adoption.
September 12, 1987 |
A little-known but powerful state commission Friday recommended a 65-cent hike in the minimum wage to $4 an hour for many California workers, but gave large numbers of younger wage earners a raise of only a nickel over the current $3.35 minimum hourly rate. The Industrial Welfare Commission's proposed $4-an-hour wage would be make California's rate higher than all states but one--Connecticut will pay $4.25 next year--and would be the first increase in the state in more than six years.
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
August 29, 1987 |
To put it very simply, Muriel Morse is on the hot seat. Morse, a 73-year-old resident of Altadena, is the swing vote on the state Industrial Welfare Commission, a little-known but powerful five-member body that will decide next month whether California will raise its minimum wage for the first time in seven years. Two of the commission members--Michael Callahan and David Padilla, both retired union officials--have publicly stated that they favor an increase in the minimum wage to $5.