YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsFinalists


February 12, 2013 | By Tina Susman, Los Angeles Times
NEW YORK - A tiny black affenpinscher named Banana Joe won the coveted Best in Show award at the 137th Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show on Tuesday, beating out more than 2,700 others for a title that guarantees canine fame, great dating and mating opportunities, and a chance to ring the opening bell of the New York Stock Exchange. In the end, it came to the final seven, each of whom had been judged best in their categories: hound, sporting, working, herding, toy, terrier and nonsporting.
February 6, 2013 | By Susan Denley
Nordstrom at the Grove is one of six Nordstrom stores nationwide that are opening pop-up shops to showcase and sell a curated selection of items by finalists in the 2012 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards, which help talented clothing, jewelry and accessories designers advance their businesses.  The Grove's Nordstrom pop-up is slated to open Monday. The top award winner was Greg Chait's Los Angeles-based The Elder Statesman , which makes cashmere clothing, accessories, blankets and quilts.
January 16, 2013 | By Carolyn Kellogg
I admit, I'm playing catch-up here, but I couldn't let another moment go by without acknowledging the Story Prize finalists, which were announced Tuesday. The three short story collections in the running are Dan Chaon's "Stay Awake," Junot Diaz's "This Is How You Lose Her" and "Battleborn" by Claire Vaye Watkins. The winner will receive a substantial prize -- $20,000. The Story Prize simultaneously announced the debut of a new prize, the Spotlight Award, designed for the Story Prize founders to single out a work due additional attention.
January 14, 2013 | By Hector Tobar
The late journalist Anthony Shadid, Los Angeles writer Reyna Grande and the novelist Zadie Smith were among the finalists announced Monday for the prestigious National Book Critics Circle Awards. Honors will be awarded in six categories: fiction, nonfiction, biography, autobiography, poetry and criticism. Shadid, who died last year while on assignment in Syria for the New York Times, was nominated in the autobiography category for his book “House of Stone: A Memoir of Home, Family, and a Lost Middle East.” Grande was nominated in the same category for “The Distance Between Us,” the story of her childhood in Mexico and arrival as a girl in Los Angeles.
January 11, 2013 | By Houston Mitchell
The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its modern-era nominees on Friday, a group of 15 that includes first-year candidates Michael Strahan, Warren Sapp, Larry Allen and Jonathan Ogden. Three wide receivers are once again among the finalists -- Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Andre Reed. Also in the group are former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr., former Browns/Ravens owner Art Modell and former Super Bowl-winning coach Bill Parcells. Of the final 15, at least four and no more than seven will be chosen for the Hall by the 46-member selection committee.
December 20, 2012 | By Amy Reiter
OK, "X Factor" watchers, we're almost there. The final performance show of the season began with an anxious-looking Simon Cowell introducing a tribute to the victims of Sandy Hook: Michael Jackson's "You Are Not Alone," featuring most of this season's top 13, dressed in white, and joined by what appeared to be a school choir. The names of the victims were projected on screens behind them. Then it was back to the competition, where country-singing family man Tate Stevens, 13-year-old wunderkind Carly Rose Sonenclar and long-shot insta-group Fifth Harmony would battle it out for the win - and the $5-million prize.
December 4, 2012 | By Chris Foster
UCLA Coach Jim Mora is one of 10 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. The award recognizes college football coaches who demonstrate sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field, according to Liberty Mutual. The winner receives $50,000 to donate to the charity of his choice and a $20,000 contribution to his school's alumni association. The other finalists in the FBS division are Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Urban Meyer (Ohio State)
December 3, 2012 | By Gary Klein
Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein were announced Monday as finalists for the Heisman Trophy. The winner will be announced Saturday in New York. USC receiver Marqise Lee, who caught a nation-leading 112 passes and is third nationally in all-purpose yardage, averaging 215.7 yards a game, was regarded as a contender to earn a trip to the Heisman ceremony. But Lee finished too far behind the top three in balloting that concluded Monday at 5 p.m. EST. Manziel, a redshirt freshman, passed for 3,418 yards and 24 touchdowns, with eight passes intercepted.
November 28, 2012 | By Gary Klein
USC receiver Marqise Lee was selected to the American Football Coaches Assn. All-America team and is one of five finalists for the Walter Camp player of the year award. Lee, a sophomore, leads major college football with a Pac-12 Conference-record 112 receptions. He has scored 15 touchdowns and ranks third nationally in all-purpose yards, averaging 215.7 yards a game. Lee, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, Oregon running back Kenjon Barner and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o are finalists for the Walter Camp award.
November 27, 2012 | By Kevin Baxter
Major League Soccer tweaked its playoff format before this season, moving its championship game from a neutral site to the home field of the finalist with the best regular-season record. Still, the prospect of the Galaxy getting home field seemed unlikely when it entered the postseason with the eighth-best record among the 10 playoff teams. But after beating Vancouver in a wild-card game and upsetting top-seeded San Jose and Seattle in the next two rounds, the Galaxy finds itself right back where it ended last season: at the Home Depot Center playing Houston, the Eastern Conference wild-card winner, in the MLS Cup final Saturday.
Los Angeles Times Articles