YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsHockey Hall Of Fame

Hockey Hall Of Fame

March 28, 1991
Scotty Bowman, longtime coach and executive, and Neil Armstrong, a veteran linesman, have been elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame.
November 12, 2013 | Lisa Dillman
What began as the germ of an idea, two brothers pursuing a jointly held dream of winning the Stanley Cup together, took a firmer grip overseas in an unlikely spot, the Czech Republic. It was 2004. Scott and Rob Niedermayer were far away from their roots in British Columbia, helping lead Canada to a gold medal at the world championships. This represented a rare, treasured opportunity for the brothers to play together. They relished those games in Prague and so the Niedermayers started discussing an extended partnership.
March 13, 1992 | From Staff and Wire Reports
Marcel Dionne, Lanny McDonald and Billy Smith were among 10 players nominated for the Hockey Hall of Fame. Other candidates in the players' category are Bob Gainey, Guy Lapointe and Jean-Guy Talbot.
July 9, 2013 | By Lisa Dillman
Scott Niedermayer's dazzling resume has another entry: Hall of Famer. The smooth-skating defenseman was considered a first-ballot lock and it became official Tuesday in Toronto when the Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee announced its class of 2013. Niedermayer, who played for the New Jersey Devils and led the Anaheim Ducks in their Stanley Cup run in 2007, was joined by defenseman Chris Chelios and power forward Brendan Shanahan. In addition, the late Fred Shero was elected as a builder and pioneer Geraldine Heaney went in in the women's player category.
September 24, 1991 | From Staff and Wire Reports
Denis Potvin and Mike Bossy, teammates on the New York Islander teams that won four Stanley Cups, were among six inducted into hockey's Hall of Fame in Ottawa, Canada. Also inducted were Bob Pulford, Scotty Bowman, Clint Smith and Neil Armstrong.
May 20, 2005
Helene Elliott, national hockey writer for The Times, was named Thursday to receive the Hockey Hall of Fame's 2005 Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for distinguished hockey writing. "Helene Elliott is a pioneer among female sports journalists," said Kevin Allen, president of the Professional Hockey Writers' Assn. "But she has truly been a role model for sportswriters of both genders. Her ethics are unquestionable. Her reporting is beyond reproach. Her prose is lively.
November 14, 2000 | HELENE ELLIOTT
Winger Joe Mullen, the top U.S.-born scorer in NHL history, doesn't consider himself a role model. But it's impossible to think anything else of the New Yorker who grew up in the Hell's Kitchen neighborhood and on Monday was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. "I didn't go out and say, 'I paved the way for other Americans,' " said Mullen, who scored 502 goals and 1,063 points in 16 NHL seasons. "But if people say I did, that's fine with me.
November 9, 2004 | From Times Wire Reports
Three defensemen with nine combined Stanley Cup championships and diverse playing styles were inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame on Monday. Defensemen Ray Bourque, Paul Coffey and Larry Murphy were joined in Toronto by Cliff Fletcher, who was the architect of the Calgary Flames' 1989 Stanley Cup championship team.
March 27, 2013 | By Houston Mitchell
Kings great Luc Robitaille donated a 2012 Stanley Cup championship ring to the Hockey Hall of Fame on Wednesday, which added it to the Stanley Cup Championship display at the Hall in Toronto. "We are very grateful to the Los Angeles Kings organization, especially Luc Robitaille,” said Bill Hay, the chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame.  “As chairman and CEO of the Hockey Hall of Fame, it's an honor to accept this Stanley Cup ring.  It will make a wonderful addition to our special Stanley Cup Ring exhibit.” The ring is featured in a display celebrating the current and past Stanley Cup champions, including the first-ever Stanley Cup ring (1893)
November 11, 2012 | By Helene Elliott
We know how much money the NHL claims to be losing as a result of the lockout it imposed Sept. 15 -- $730 million as of last week, according to Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly -- and we know that fans have become, in turn, angry and apathetic. And that league, team and arena workers are losing work hours and pay. But what isn't mentioned is that there's another victim of this labor dispute: the Hockey Hall of Fame's induction ceremony, which will take place Monday in Toronto but isn't getting the usual attention because of the lockout.
June 26, 2012 | By Lisa Dillman
Mats Sundin's reaction told the story. "Are you serious?" he said. Sundin, who played 13 of his 18 NHL seasons with Toronto, couldn't quite believe the call from the hall. That would be the Hockey Hall of Fame. Sundin, Joe Sakic, Pavel Bure and Adam Oates were elected to Hall of Fame on Tuesday. The induction ceremony is Nov. 12 in Toronto. Among those eligible this year for the first time but not elected was Brendan Shanahan, who is the league's chief disciplinarian.
December 12, 2011 | By Helene Elliott
+ Congratulations to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame's newest class, which was scheduled for induction Monday at a ceremony in Chicago. Well-deserved honors for former players Chris Chelios, Gary Suter and Keith Tkachuk, longtime Philadelphia Flyers owner Ed Snider, and broadcaster Mike Emrick. + The Minnesota Wild is not boring. The once sleep-inducing team has outscored opponents, 25-12, in winning seven straight games and leads the NHL with 43 points. The Wild has speed, a great forecheck and fine goaltending.
June 28, 2011 | By Helene Elliott
The Hockey Hall of Fame again snubbed the late Pat Burns and coaching innovator Fred Shero in selecting four players for induction in November. Goaltender Ed Belfour, third in career victories with 484 and twice a winner of the Vezina trophy as the NHL's top goalie, was elected in his first year of eligibility and said he was "just flabbergasted. " He began his career with the Blackhawks and called his trade from Chicago to San Jose after a contract dispute "the worst day of my career," yet went on to win the Stanley Cup with Dallas in 1999.
Los Angeles Times Articles