YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsHonors


March 5, 2012 | By Gary Klein
The Pac-12Conference announced its all-conference, all-freshman and all-defensive teams Tuesday and no USC players were among the honorees . USC finished 1-17 in conference play and enters this week's Pac-12 tournament with a 6-25 record. "If you don't win, you don't get anything," USC Coach Kevin O'Neill said. "That's just the way it is. " Awards and all-conference teams are chosen through a vote of league coaches, who cannot vote for their own players. O'Neill said he thought sophomore guard Maurice Jones and Byron Wesley were worthy of recognition.
September 29, 1992
Jules Engel, founding director of CalArts' experimental animation program, has been chosen as the recipient of the Norman McLaren Heritage Award to be given at the Ottowa Animation Festival, which runs Wednesday through Oct. 4. Named for the late pioneering Canadian animator, the award has been given by the Association Internationale du Film Animation-Canada to Engel for his achievements as a mentor at CalArts.
March 2, 2004 | Rob Fernas
Senior forward Kate Murray, who led Loyola Marymount to its first West Coast Conference regular-season title, was chosen WCC women's player of the year Monday by a vote of conference coaches. After sitting out last season because of a knee injury, the 6-foot Murray came back to help the Lions (22-5) set the school record for victories and earn the No. 1 seeding in the WCC tournament starting Thursday at Santa Clara. She averages 16.1 points and 6.2 rebounds.
February 22, 2012 | Staff reports
For the second consecutive year, The Times has been recognized as one of the nation's top 10 Sports sections for daily and Sunday editions among papers with circulations of 175,000 and above in the annual judging by the Associated Press Sports Editors. In addition, Times sportswriters were recognized with top-10 awards in the explanatory journalism, beat reporting and breaking news categories. David Wharton and Baxter Holmes were recognized among the 10 best of 2011 in the explanatory category for their story detailing the finances of athletic programs in the Pac-12 Conference.
June 5, 2012 | By Michael A. Memoli
President Obama has offered Britain's Queen Elizabeth II the "heartfelt congratulations of the American people" on the occasion of her Diamond Jubilee (watch video below). In a video message, Obama said the queen was a "living witness" to the power of the special relationship between the U.S. and U.K., and the "chief source of its resilience. " "As a steadfast ally, loyal friend and tireless leader, Your Majesty has set an example of resolve that will be long celebrated," Obama said.
December 7, 2012 | By Susan King
Malik Bendjelloul's  "Searching for Sugar Man" won the Best Feature Award at the International Documentary Assn.'s 2012 IDA Documentary Awards at the Directors Guild of America on Friday evening. The acclaimed chronicle about Sixto Rodriguez, a  U.S. singer-songwriter who failed to catch on in the 1970s, only to become the voice of a whole generation in Apartheid-era South Africa, also won the Creative Recognition Award for Best Music for Rodriguez's original songs and Bendjelloul's additional score.
July 15, 1998 | MIMI KO CRUZ and LISA ADDISON
Tim Tift, lecturer in the UCI education department, has received the UCI Extension Distinguished Faculty Award. Tift received the award during an annual ceremony last month in the Social Sciences Auditorium at UCI. The award honors an instructor who demonstrates unparalleled support of UCI Extension programs within the community and provides guidance in pursuing new academic directions and approaches. Tift has been teaching for UCI Extension and the social sciences division since 1996.
June 18, 2011 | By Mike Anton, Los Angeles Times
On Dec. 16, 1944, 21-year-old Army Cpl. Gordon Hearne found himself in an hours-long gun battle with German soldiers in the Belgium countryside — one of countless such stories that marked the beginning of the Battle of the Bulge, Germany's last major offensive and a turning point in World War II. On Saturday, Hearne, now 87, was formally thanked by King Albert II of Belgium for his service. In a ceremony at Taix French Restaurant in Echo Park, Hearne was awarded the Knight of the Order of the Crown by Belgium's consul general in Los Angeles.
Los Angeles Times Articles