Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsOpinion
IN THE NEWS

Opinion

FEATURED ARTICLES
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
May 27, 1993
We all have opinions. They are usually based on some belief. What is interesting is that most people do not realize this, and present their opinion as fact based on a belief they consider a fact. Raymond P. Gauer (letter on ACLU director Ramona Ripston, May 20) lists a number of Ripston's "projects," which he obviously thinks are bad. Let's look at the other side of the coin. Pornography--legal in Denmark and they have far less problems with sex crimes than we do. Legalization of drugs--more and more people involved with the failing drug war are calling for legalization.
ARTICLES BY DATE
WORLD
April 27, 2014 | By Batsheva Sobelman and Kathleen Hennessey
At a time when the Middle East peace process appears stymied, Israel received an unexpected olive branch when Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas denounced the Holocaust and expressed sympathy with its victims. But Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu labeled the comments a play for public opinion and called on the Palestinian leader to "tear up" his recent pact with the militant Islamist movement Hamas. "What happened to the Jews in the Holocaust is the most heinous crime known by mankind in modern times," said Abbas, according to a statement published Sunday by the Palestinian government news agency WAFA.
Advertisement
OPINION
July 28, 2013
If you've ever tried to submit a poem to Opinion, you've probably gotten a reply noting that we simply don't print poetry. We didn't print the poem that came in the shape of the World Trade Center towers after 9/11; we didn't print the poem that came in this month after the Trayvon Martin verdict; and we didn't print any of the hundreds of poems that came in between those events. But we've decided to make a one-time exception. We are inviting Op-Poetry submissions from readers, and on Sunday, Aug. 25, we'll devote a page of our print section to the best of what comes in. And we'll feature more of it on the Opinion website.
OPINION
April 26, 2014
Re “Obama's Keystone trap,” Opinion, April 22 Jonah Goldberg has a point. On one side there are the global warming deniers; on the other are the hard-line environmental activists. One side refuses to accept there is a problem; the other demonizes those who raise questions. Environmentalists who consider global warming an emergency should support the construction of safe, reliable nuclear power plants and the continued development of natural gas resources to replace petroleum and coal.
SPORTS
March 25, 2010 | Jerry Crowe
Interesting timing, the Lakers playing the Oklahoma City Thunder on Friday after Rolling Stone's Matt Taibbi recently posited that Kevin Durant had passed Kobe Bryant as the NBA's second-best player behind LeBron James .… Apparently no fan of the Lakers star, Taibbi also called Bryant a "demented three-faced narcissist." … Three-faced narcissists must have trouble with mirrors.… Just when everybody seemed ready to bury him, Ron Artest was at his struttin', stealin', swaggerin' best Wednesday.
NEWS
August 17, 2012 | By Michael McGough
As someone who writes a lot about court decisions, I can vouch for the fact that actually reading the opinions can spoil the fun. A court's rationale is often more complicated and technical than the first takeaway from the decision would suggest. Sometimes, it's true, the jurisprudential rigmarole is just a rationalization for an outcome-driven discussion, but that happens less often than cynics think.  I offer these observations to explain why I'm less outraged than some people about a Pennsylvania judge's refusal to block implementation of that state's voter ID law -- a law, I think, that is mischievous and politically motivated.
FOOD
June 24, 2010
In 1996, the year he officially (if temporarily) retired, celebrated French chef Joël Robuchon identified Ferran Adrià as his "heir" in an interview on the French television station TF1 and called him "the best cook on the planet." This caused an unimaginable scandal in France and reportedly induced much hair-tearing on the part of other prominent French chefs who had thought that maybe they were in line for the succession. What did Robuchon really mean? In an article about Adrià and the avant-garde in Spain appearing in the New York Times Magazine in 2003, Arthur Lubow wrote that when he asked Robuchon about the incident, "he backpedaled a little, saying carefully, 'Ferran is the best cook in the world for technique.
OPINION
March 8, 2010 | By Kevin O'Leary
The designers of the Constitution were a literate bunch of Enlightenment thinkers. They lived in the time of the printed word and the close argument. We, on the other hand, live in the age of YouTube, talk radio, reality TV, cable news and the 30-second attack ad. A constant barrage of public opinion polls -- Gallup, Zogby, NBC News/Wall Street Journal, New York Times/CBS News -- tells us what we think. Well, maybe. On big issues -- what should California do to balance its books and avoid insolvency, for example -- it is important that the public weigh in. But if public knowledge is only skin deep, asking Californians what they want to do is similar to asking your 8-year-old to help drive the winding mountain road to Yosemite National Park.
OPINION
January 30, 2005
I purchase The Times every Sunday. The main reason is to read the Opinion section. One can find most of the usual daily news in almost any mainstream newspaper. Insightful editorial content, however, is often missing. But I note a discouraging tendency in your Opinion section. You are now featuring cartoons. In the Jan. 23 edition, I count almost one-third of the section constituted of cartoons. I like to read the funnies about as much as most people, and I think Michael Ramirez's offerings are great.
OPINION
March 27, 2005
I was delighted to see that you dropped the cartoon format of the Opinion section March 20 and printed some substantive articles. I read most of the Opinion section for the first time in several months. Please continue to improve the quality and substance. Janet Howell Valencia I am so tired of the really tired opinion that cartoons are always childish and/or only for kids. Many deep and profound ideas can be said with an image with a few lines. You still seem to have many written opinion columns, so it's not as if a few drawings have suddenly brought down the quality of the writing.
OPINION
April 10, 2014 | By Stefan Halper and Lezlee Brown Halper
Beijing has no shortage of issues to confront. There's the South China Sea, uncontrollable corruption, a slowing economy and factional disputes within the party and military. But Chinese officials also face one of the most difficult challenges in modern statecraft: how to conquer a myth. Despite China's attempts to dislodge its mythic appeal, Tibet as Shangri-La seems firmly set in the world's imagination. The once-independent nation, set high on a broad plateau adjacent to the Himalayas, is a worldwide symbol of mystery, aspiration, spirituality and possibility.
ENTERTAINMENT
March 27, 2014 | By Martin Tsai
Based on a true story only in the loosest sense, "Boys of Abu Ghraib" dramatizes the torture of terror suspects at the hands of American guards during the Iraq war. Unlike the few documentaries on the subject, the film views the events through an American serviceman's perspective and argues that Abu Ghraib was as much a prison sentence for some of the captors as it was for their detainees. Writer-director-star Luke Moran retreads many archetypes and tropes left over from movies about the Vietnam and Korean wars, refusing to engage modern military rules and realities as laid out in his film's contemporaries, such as "The Hurt Locker" and "Lone Survivor.
OPINION
March 26, 2014
Re “Jonah Goldberg,” Opinion, March 25 Six words in the lower right corner of the Opinion section brightened a gloomy morning: “Jonah Goldberg has the day off.” Tom Turnley Santa Ana More letters to the editor ...  
NEWS
March 26, 2014
Sue Horton was named Op-Ed and Sunday Opinion editor of the Los Angeles Times in October 2008.  Prior to that, she served as The Times' deputy California editor and as editor of the Sunday Opinion section. Before coming to The Times, she was editor-in-chief of the L.A. Weekly for six years. From 1987 to 1994, she was a journalism professor at the University of Southern California. Horton started her journalism career working for Community Information Project, an investigative reporting cooperative that did stories on contract with public television, "60 Minutes," Public Television, and a variety of newspapers and magazines.
NATIONAL
March 12, 2014 | By Cathleen Decker and Cindy Carcamo
TUCSON - Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer announced Wednesday she would not seek a third term, forgoing a campaign that would have required her to challenge the state's term limits measure. The Republican had left open the option of running this year, despite the overwhelming weight of legal opinion against it. She became governor in 2009 when Democrat Janet Napolitano left office to join President Obama's Cabinet, and Brewer won reelection the following year. The state limits governors to two terms, and most legal experts said her first partial term counted toward the limit.
SPORTS
March 11, 2014 | By Chris Foster
LAS VEGAS - This could be a referendum on Pac-12 Conference Commissioner Larry Scott's vision. The NCAA tournament selection committee will sequester itself Sunday in something of a conclave of Cardinals that's more Louisville than Vatican City. When they emerge, 68 teams will have been chosen. How many will be from the Pac-12? The answer largely depends on who is fielding the question. Bill Walton says eight. But he has also been known to say things like Digger Phelps is the "devil.
NEWS
September 5, 1986 | Associated Press
A federal appeals court opinion overturning a jury's $11-million award to the estate of a woman who died of toxic-shock syndrome has been withdrawn because it was filed prematurely, the court clerk said Thursday. Robert Hoecker, clerk of the U.S. 10th Circuit Court of Appeals, said he did not know when a new opinion would be filed or whether it would substantially change the withdrawn opinion, which was distributed by mistake on Tuesday.
WORLD
March 2, 2014 | By Julie Makinen
BEIJING - The headline news on state-run Chinese Channel 13 was juicy: A mining tycoon and 35 others had been charged with running a mafia-style enterprise in Sichuan province, gunning down enemies in the street, bribing people and operating an illegal casino. But viewers didn't have to just listen to police or prosecutors describe the evidence against the three dozen suspects: CCTV aired extensive clips of many of them, dressed in blue jailhouse jackets, admitting their misdeeds.
BUSINESS
February 23, 2014 | By Donie Vanitzian
Question: All owners in my association received a letter from the board's vice president along with photos showing everything that's wrong in our building. Some things that were listed as "wrong" have been dormant for dozens of years, and still this high-rise has not fallen down and his issues do not pose a liability. Some things have been deliberately tampered with by the vice president so he could say that they are "wrong. " Now that he has sent this list to all owners, what are the ramifications if we want to sell our units?
Los Angeles Times Articles
|