Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsOpinion Section
IN THE NEWS

Opinion Section

FEATURED ARTICLES
NATIONAL
December 17, 2010 | By Geraldine Baum, Los Angeles Times
In the 1931 satirical musical "Of Thee I Sing," a politician is advised by his party's bosses that if he really isn't running for president, he should stop denying he's running ? only a real candidate does that. Michael Bloomberg, the mayor of New York and one of the richest men in America, made such a denial in the last week. He also gave a major economic address, appeared on a network talk show, got top billing at a political meeting, and saw his powerful media company launch an opinion section, offering a whole new platform for his views ?
ARTICLES BY DATE
OPINION
April 20, 2012
Got a beef with the L.A. Times? Read something in the paper that really ticked you off, but haven't got a place to make your opinion heard? Want to write an article about it and get it into The Times? Blowback is The Times' forum for full-length responses to our articles, editorials and Op-Eds. It is the missing link between the 150-word letter to the editor and the Op-Ed piece, and you're invited to participate. To submit an entry to Blowback, just send your best 700 words or fewer to blowback@latimes.com . To get an idea of what we're looking for, check out previous postings . By submitting a Blowback article, you agree to our terms of service . Any questions?
Advertisement
OPINION
March 16, 2008
Polaroid: An article in the March 9 Opinion section about the history and future of Polaroid Corp. misstated the name of its founder. It is Edwin Land, not Edward Land.
NATIONAL
December 17, 2010 | By Geraldine Baum, Los Angeles Times
In the 1931 satirical musical "Of Thee I Sing," a politician is advised by his party's bosses that if he really isn't running for president, he should stop denying he's running ? only a real candidate does that. Michael Bloomberg, the mayor of New York and one of the richest men in America, made such a denial in the last week. He also gave a major economic address, appeared on a network talk show, got top billing at a political meeting, and saw his powerful media company launch an opinion section, offering a whole new platform for his views ?
HOME & GARDEN
January 13, 2005
THANKS for the info on the "ECOlogical Calendar" ["Beauty, Week After Week," Dec. 30]. I like the Home section almost as much as the Opinion section. Loretta Archibald Simi Valley
BOOKS
December 29, 1991
Regarding the Book Review of Nov. 24. I almost couldn't find it tucked into the fold of the Opinion section. Why such a meager 12 pages? Where were the new fiction reviews? Where were the letters to the editor? I can't believe there were no new novels published worthy of review. What does it say about Los Angeles when the TV Times is fatter than the Book Review? I would like the Book Review to last me all day. How about a little more substance. JOHN TROLLMANN, SAN PEDRO
BOOKS
July 14, 1991
I read with great dismay your cover story in Book Review, as well as the lead article in the Opinion section. Each article dealt with a book ("A Question of Character") which simply rehashes virtually every unsubstantiated rumor, gossip and innuendo about the private life of President Kennedy. I strongly question the book's newsworthiness. . . . More disturbing is the question of editorial responsibility in presenting in a factual manner allegations set forth in what reviewer Jack Beatty parenthetically observes is a biased book.
OPINION
May 6, 2007
Re "Misreading readers," Opinion, April 29 Friends from the East Coast occasionally ask me about the differences in the intellectual level and interests of New Yorkers and Angelenos. I have always told them that they could easily find that out themselves by buying one copy each of the Sunday edition of the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times, pull out the Book Review sections, lay them side by side -- and the answer will be instantly obvious. BARBARA MARCUS Beverly Hills As a newly arrived returnee to my native state after 19 years in the Washington area, one thing I really miss is the Washington Post's Book World.
NEWS
December 12, 1988
After having taken The Times for 60 years, my Christmas gift to its editors and publisher is a hearty "thank you." They are probably not responsible for my only criticism: Finding the needle in a haystack is child's play compared to locating the Opinion Section in the Sunday edition. But finding it is worth all the effort. FRANCIS RAYMOND LINE Capistrano Beach
MAGAZINE
July 23, 1989 | JOY HOROWITZ, Joy Horowitz's last story for this magazine was "Dr. Amnio."
REMEMBERING HER DAYS AS A young girl--"No one would have accused me of being a happy child"--Leslie Abramson has an enduring memory of her favorite means of escape. After school, at the corner luncheonette, she'd buy button candies and chocolate marshmallow twists (two for a nickel) and spend hours at the comic-book racks, reading. Mad magazine was good for a giggle. But it was the spooky stuff, the horror comics like "Tales From the Crypt," that she really loved. And hated, too.
OPINION
March 16, 2008
Polaroid: An article in the March 9 Opinion section about the history and future of Polaroid Corp. misstated the name of its founder. It is Edwin Land, not Edward Land.
OPINION
May 6, 2007
Re "Misreading readers," Opinion, April 29 Friends from the East Coast occasionally ask me about the differences in the intellectual level and interests of New Yorkers and Angelenos. I have always told them that they could easily find that out themselves by buying one copy each of the Sunday edition of the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times, pull out the Book Review sections, lay them side by side -- and the answer will be instantly obvious. BARBARA MARCUS Beverly Hills As a newly arrived returnee to my native state after 19 years in the Washington area, one thing I really miss is the Washington Post's Book World.
OPINION
July 10, 2005 | Jamie Court, Jamie Court, author of "Corporateering," is president of the Santa Monica-based Foundation for Taxpayer and Consumer Rights.
Facing reduced circulation, The Times is apparently trying to create buzz by making its editorial pages more interactive and surprising. Unfortunately, editors are abandoning standards and traditions that make readers want to read its editorial pages. The paper is concocting a Frankenstein's monster of new and old media -- call it blogotorial. Personality-driven writing is the province of the blogosphere.
OPINION
April 3, 2005 | Matt Welch, Matt Welch (mwelch@reason.com) is associate editor of Reason magazine (www.reason.com). His work is archived at www.mattwelch.com.
Less than a month after my wife and I moved to the Los Feliz/Silver Lake area in August 1998, we were alarmed to learn in the L.A. Times that our charming new neighborhood was going straight to the dogs. "Neighbors Rankled by Closing of Coffee Spot," a grim Metro section headline warned us. "Loss of La Conversation bakery/java joint after 17 years is compounded by fear of Los Feliz gentrification. Co-owner blames chain competition." Had we arrived too late?
HOME & GARDEN
January 13, 2005
THANKS for the info on the "ECOlogical Calendar" ["Beauty, Week After Week," Dec. 30]. I like the Home section almost as much as the Opinion section. Loretta Archibald Simi Valley
BOOKS
April 9, 1995 | Paul Wilkes, Paul Wilkes writes frequently about religion and religious belief. His most recent book, "And They Shall Be My People: An American Rabbi and His Congregation" will be issued in paperback this fall.
DEAR JACK: The galley proofs of your new book about me arrived a while back, and I've finally finished it. What with all the requests, complaints and reports I have to sort through, it's hard to get any sustained, serious reading done. Know the problem? And yours is a Book of the Month Club selection, no less. Nice going. Still some interest in me down there, obviously. But I noted it was only an "alternate selection"--does that mean they're interested, but only alternately?
OPINION
April 20, 2012
Got a beef with the L.A. Times? Read something in the paper that really ticked you off, but haven't got a place to make your opinion heard? Want to write an article about it and get it into The Times? Blowback is The Times' forum for full-length responses to our articles, editorials and Op-Eds. It is the missing link between the 150-word letter to the editor and the Op-Ed piece, and you're invited to participate. To submit an entry to Blowback, just send your best 700 words or fewer to blowback@latimes.com . To get an idea of what we're looking for, check out previous postings . By submitting a Blowback article, you agree to our terms of service . Any questions?
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
October 13, 1996
Barbara Wilkins, 63, a novelist and journalist who specialized in magazine writing. After studying at UCLA, Wilkins settled in Los Angeles, where she wrote for Los Angeles and Time magazines. When People magazine was created, she was its first Southern California bureau chief. She also contributed occasional guest articles for The Times' Sunday Opinion section on such topics as women in the film industry. She also wrote a nonfiction book, "Beauty for Always," with Beverly Sassoon.
BOOKS
December 29, 1991
Regarding the Book Review of Nov. 24. I almost couldn't find it tucked into the fold of the Opinion section. Why such a meager 12 pages? Where were the new fiction reviews? Where were the letters to the editor? I can't believe there were no new novels published worthy of review. What does it say about Los Angeles when the TV Times is fatter than the Book Review? I would like the Book Review to last me all day. How about a little more substance. JOHN TROLLMANN, SAN PEDRO
BOOKS
July 14, 1991
I read with great dismay your cover story in Book Review, as well as the lead article in the Opinion section. Each article dealt with a book ("A Question of Character") which simply rehashes virtually every unsubstantiated rumor, gossip and innuendo about the private life of President Kennedy. I strongly question the book's newsworthiness. . . . More disturbing is the question of editorial responsibility in presenting in a factual manner allegations set forth in what reviewer Jack Beatty parenthetically observes is a biased book.
Los Angeles Times Articles
|