Advertisement
 
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsOpinion
IN THE NEWS

Opinion

OPINION
January 24, 2011
Still more opinions Re "Mouthing off in America," Opinion, Jan. 16 Though I agree that pundits and the rest of us need to be more thoughtful and considered in presenting our opinions, I object to Stephen Randall mentioning Keith Olbermann along with Glenn Beck as someone who presents "not very smart opinions. " Olbermann definitely has a point of view, but he always has facts to back up his opinions. Yes, I am a liberal, so I tend to agree with Olbermann, but there are conservative commentators I respect because they at least present a logical argument: George F. Will, Steve Chapman and (sometimes)
Advertisement
SPORTS
April 15, 2010 | By Diane Pucin
Here we have it, NBA playoff time and Charles Barkley has opinions. So many opinions. For example, LeBron James is the best player in the world, Barkley says. And in the Western Conference, the Lakers are "clearly" the team to beat. "We'd all be shocked if the Lakers don't get to the Finals," Barkley said, speaking for his TNT broadcast mates. Well most of them anyway. One of those mates, Kevin Harlan, said he would not be surprised if the Lakers aren't in the West finals.
OPINION
December 2, 2011 | By Michael Kinsley
A year ago, 27% of those polled nationwide said they agreed with the tea party, and 22% said they disagreed. Last month, according to the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, it was the reverse: 27% said they disagreed with the tea party, and 20% agreed. If the tea party folks are feeling a bit paranoid about the abundant publicity this poll got when it was released this week, they have some justification. A 5- to 7-percentage-point swing over the course of a year is hardly the stuff of counterrevolutions.
SPORTS
March 10, 2001
Re: "Times Sports Department Wins Triple Crown," March 1: I was sure The Times would finish the season leading in these categories. You had a lock on Sophomoric Ridicule and ran wire to wire in Opinion Sharing, but the key was your commitment to the Minimal Game Coverage category. And it looks like you're the favorite to win next year's new category: XFL Cheerleader Coverage. Keep up the great sportswriting, guys. JAN BILSON Santa Clarita
OPINION
June 5, 2011
Looking at Liu Re "Impaired judgment," Opinion, June 1 There is a reason that attacks like those made on Goodwin Liu, who recently asked that his nomination to the U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals be withdrawn, are called "Borking. " This horrible process began with the late Sen. Edward M. Kennedy's bizarre attack on Robert Bork, a recognized constitutional scholar whom President Reagan nominated to the Supreme Court. Ever since then, federal court nominees have been targeted by ideological opponents of the administration nominating them.
SPORTS
September 11, 1999
Your hypocrisy knows no bounds! Mr. Penner should turn his venomous insights toward his own paper. He basically says there is no journalistic value to ESPN [Sept. 7]. It is just a bunch of entertainment and other worthless rubbish. This, I guess, is opposed to all the valuable sports journalism your current writers provide. I don't recall the last time I read an article by a Times sportswriter that reported just the game or event being covered. Everything is accompanied by a worthless opinion, anecdote, or solution.
OPINION
March 13, 2003
"Snowmobilers Riding High in Yellowstone" (March 9) fails to mention the heavy lobbying by the snowmobile industry, which donated large sums of money to the Republicans. Rep. Joseph Hoeffel (D-Pa.) laments that "it's going to take public outrage" to reverse the Bush administration's lifting of the ban on snowmobiles in the park. Apparently, the fact that public opinion runs 4 to 1 against snowmobiles isn't enough outrage for President Bush. Nor is the opposition of the Environmental Protection Agency (under the hamstrung "leadership" of Christie Whitman)
OPINION
April 10, 2005
Each Sunday I read The Times' comics (a.k.a. Opinion pages). Usually this is at breakfast. Most of the time this usually demands an infusion of antacid. On April 3, however, I was unusually surprised, sort of. The article by Karin Klein, "How I Gamed the SAT," was great until the last sentence. While I was reading it, I took her examples and was grading the article according to her scale. Until the end of the article, I had given her a 5, maybe a 6. However, she inserted a left-wing wacko commentary in the last paragraph.
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
November 16, 1992 | HARIM MARTINEZ, Junior, 16, Century High School; Compiled by Erik Hamilton for The Times
Malcolm spoke the truth and many did not like to hear what the world was really like. The people of this world prefer to believe their own lies, to live in a make-believe world, rather than face the problems they cause. Many people of our generation are attracted by Malcolm X because everything that plagued his time still plagues us today. In modern America, we have no Malcolm X or Martin Luther King Jr., so we look back in history to find a hero.
Los Angeles Times Articles
|